Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Linear Crossing VR

by Clavus - Jam Entry

Linear Crossing is a VR game (also playable WITHOUT VR!) about moving around using TRANSFORMS: neat little pickups that rotate, translate or scale your vehicle. Goal of the game is to AMASS WEALTH in the form of coins, by travelling through a randomly generated frogger-style world.

(Wireless) gamepad recommended. Also works with the mouse. Controls explained in-game!

Requires the Oculus 0.8 Runtime for VR. Made using Unity 5.3.0.

If you want music, just turn on the radio to your lower left :)

This game has been made for both Ludum Dare and the TU Delft game jam. The latter had as theme "Linear Algebra", so I ended up merging a few ideas.

Probably my best jam game to date!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#6Innovation(Jam)4.29
#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#90Overall(Jam)3.89
#168Mood(Jam)3.70
#272Audio(Jam)3.46
#304Fun(Jam)3.43
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#542Humor(Jam)2.61

Comments

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

This was a really cool little game, even without VR. I liked the art style of the game. The music and sounds matched it very well. Very neat idea. My mouse sensitivity was very high in this game. It was very hard to judge how many forward movement pills I needed when I first started. Maybe there's a way to make it more obvious.

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

One of the best ones ive seen so far

Clavus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

@Mr_Fudd: thanks! You can change your mouse sensitivity using the scrollwheel btw :)

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Just scratching the theme but very cool nonetheless.

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15am

Excellent job! I did have one little problem with it though and I wasn't sure if it was my Oculus or what but after playing it for a few minutes it gets kind of jerky. Once you die and it resets it's all good. Again that could just be me. Much better than my VR entry haha! Well done!

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Really like the artwork and game idea. Can see there was a lot of effort put into this! Really good job!

veverichka says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Now I wish I had my google cardboard with me. Nicely done! :)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39am

@veverichka: thanks! However it only supports Unity's native VR, which basically comes down to just the Oculus Rift. Didn't really have time to bring it over to mobile VR platforms, plus the positional tracking (which is not available on mobile) can be really useful in this game to peak around corners.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Really cool entry! Unfortunately don't have VR but can see how this would be pretty sweet! I love the radio xD Nice little puzzle game that looks nice and clean.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I wish I had VR to play it with!
It was still fun without and a really cool idea :)
Goooood Job!

dkilford says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Cool game, I like the art a lot. I think introducing the car mechanic a bit further into the game would have worked better, I was only just getting used to the controls when I was put under a lot of pressure to cross quickly.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This has a really cool look to it!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:19am

Neat little concept, +1 for trying to make something for VR in 3 days, i'm sure it adds to the experience but i didn't have any VR device to try it though, still a good entry :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

The graphics for this game were amazing! I loved the polish that this game had. The effects were awesome, such as the animation which is shown when you open a chest. Also, this game was very original. It is cool that you were able to program a game for VR during the Jam.

My main critique would be that the controls weren't very fun (at least when not playing this with VR). It was a little tedious having to aim at a movement pill with a mouse just in order to move. I imagine that it is much easier with VR though.

Great job overall though! This seems like something which is really hard to get working right, especially in a weekend.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:25am

Very nice! Simple but quite fun!

The only thing is that I did not feel that I was punished by wrong choice of actions. There was always actions to be collected. Maybe in the future would be cool add some score for accuracy, wise use of the items.

Anyway, good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Simple and fun, although it can feel a little too simple.

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I saw this game being made and played. It's awesome.

Farelle says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I liked the artstyle alot and I enjoyed the relative quietness or calmness of the game, was kinda relaxing :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]