Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

QM Snake

by Thepattybeast - Compo Entry

+ means press Q+M.

A version of snake with two buttons.

REQUIREMENTS:
Java 8 or above
If its not working update java

Added post version(QM Snake_Post.jar) with some features that should have been in the main version:
Launcher now works on mac and linux
Can now enable and disable 2D and 3D in the launcher

Controls:
Q: Left/Up
M: Right/Down
Q or M to unfreeze
ALT+F4 To exit from anywhere but the game over screen

Look in cfg/keymap.cfg for rebinding

UI:
Q: Activate left option (ex. Next)
M: Activate right option (ex. Prev)
Q+M: Activate middle option (ex. Play)

Libraries:
Lightweight Java Game Library 3 - https://www.lwjgl.org/
Core Java Game Engine - https://bitbucket.org/Thepattybeast/core-java-game-engine/src
Java (Standard Library) - https://www.java.com/

Thanks for reading!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Humor2.27
#702Theme3.42
#782Graphics2.47
#814Overall2.80
#840Mood2.13
#864Innovation2.37
#900Fun2.32
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

Good job! The transparent screen overlay was kind of confusing. Seems like a waste of 3dness if you're supposed to just watch the 2d screen.

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

I'm on Linux Mint 17 and I have Java 8. I could not run your game. The error says the lwjgl library is missing.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

nice graphics/style

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

It looked neat, but I couldn't get it to play. The menu had Q and M on it to change stages, and then + to start? I tried pressing + on my keyboard, shift and not shifted, and I wasn't able to get it to start. Maybe a different key would work better? Hopefully it's just an issue on my computer!

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

@adamgryu + means press Q+M.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

Nice job, tricky to get the hang of. The UI is interesting, perhaps with a little tweaking you could get a neat 2D/3D overlay effect. Fun yet challenging, well done!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Plays like snake, except the controls were really confusing, I liked the 3d representation of the game in the background although it made it slightly difficult to see what's going on in the actual 2D scene.

The graphics were not the best, but overall a fun little take on the classic snake gameplay

Thanks for the game! :D

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58pm

when you go up and press Q (so the left button) you turn right... This plus the screen overlay makes the game really hard and frustrating.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01pm

@5you Q should always be left

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Quite nice, the graphics were a bit confusing with the 2d map and the 3d world behind it, better to choose one of them. Controls were confusing but I don't know if it's the good or bad kind of confusion.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I like snake and this game did an okay job at representing the classic. Graphics are a bit confusing, however.

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05am

I agree with the other comments: the buttons are just confusing, and the 3D background is distracting.

Otherwise a solid snake remake.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13pm

This is a good idea for the theme, a bit hard but cool :p

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:34pm

So sry that i dont played it on my first stream but now I played it and its ok.

pkenney says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:57am

Wow I'll admit it, I underestimated this game in the first few moments, thinking it would be another slight variation on snake.

But holy cow this thing is sinister to the core. I don't know why but I just could not get over the alien control gap, my brain insisted on misfiring constantly and sending me into a wall or something. 10 minutes in I was like, why am I not learning this? The QM is such a simple idea but holy crap my brain would not accept it even when I was really concentrating.

The ludicrous, useless double vision background thing was crazy, the sneaky mines that look like the background color were nasty, and that 10 minutes left level was completely nuts.

Good job making something so innocent get so weird with just a few small twists.

The level select was a very nice feature to have in this game, and good on you for not locking them until I beat previous ones or something.

Top score was 44 on SNAKE.

If I could make one change to it, I would quicken up the retry loop.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This game is quite challenging, and it's a nice take on the classic snake game! :P

Controls are quite difficult to get properly and it gets a bit confusing, but that's part of the challenge in the game! :P

The 2d/3d overlay feels strange, though. A side-by-side or a 3d + mini-map could be a good thing to do. :P

geckojsc says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:50am

Haha, I'm quite amazed that this control scheme works, I never thought about it before!

The variety of levels and extra touches e.g. scoreboard make this a solid entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]