Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Psychra

by Noah Ratcliff - Jam Entry

Explore the world as it grows around you.

Controls are either alt key, or the x and , keys.

Designed and developed by Aidan Markham (@astroaidan) and Noah Ratcliff (@20c109)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#17Mood(Jam)4.35
#38Audio(Jam)4.12
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#701Fun(Jam)2.92

Comments

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Amazing! the visuals are very appealing and so are the sound effects! my mind was absolutely blown to shreds when i saw the forest. then those shreds were blown to even smaller shreds when daytime hit me.

ptoatnaatto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

this game makes me ovulate

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very Nice game, good concept

Kep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Great graphics and mood.
Without a goal I'm not sure it's a 'game', but I enjoyed it.
(Quit button please. (Esc key?))

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

It was very calm at first and then got sorta creepy. I liked it!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

i think it's my life simulator)

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17pm

This is amazingly trippy xD I also think you did a good job with the sound design, although I would have like for the sound when you collect a thing to be a bit more subtle.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Great music and atmosphere. Like a walk in a surreal forest.
Also, it teached me that my Alt keys are in terrible condition.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52pm

First time I played it I was like "it would have been really nice if the music and the world was like building up the more of those white things you collected". Second time I played I found out how marvelously it did just that. With that in mind though, I would consider making the pick-up collider for the white things a bit larger, because it would seem to me it is a game about soothingly drifting around and experiencing the evolution of the surrounding. And as such should be very easy. I don't know if I got the biotope maxed out, but in any case. If you consider doing some more work on this entry, I would recommend adding more progression to the music. Including adding a evolving the ping on collecting the white stuff. I'd loved some rain as well as budding flowers on the bushes and trees. Maybe morph the ship too, giving it more and more complex shape? It would be neat if the evolution of the game progresed over some sort of narrative phases: From deserted waste planes, to basic topology, rocks, small shrubs, trees, weather, wild-life. And then maybe decay after that. And who knows what. Also, maybe add Esc to quit the game.

After this inconsistent rant, to sum it up: I absolutely enjoyed the experience of playing the game.

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:36am

Cool concept! Very serene, maybe what would have made it more fun for me would have been some sort of objective but I still had a great time playing it!

Good job guys!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19am

A lovely piece of ambient exploration. Really enjoyable!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:32am

This is an interesting entry. Very artsy and atmospheric. I can honestly say this genre isn't really for me, I'm an action blow shit up kind of guy lol. But anyway, I wandered around collecting stuff for a while and the scene changed a few times, but I feel like the player's controls were a bit to floaty to actually collect the things. Also, I wasn't sure if there was an end or not, but if there is, maybe give the player a sense of how close they are to achieving it? Other than that good stuff though!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Not much in terms of gameplay but it's a pretty nice and relaxing entry plus I like how the world grows the more you collect those white things.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

I played this for a very long time before realized I probably wasn't going to be able to collect everything ;) Loved the music and lighting changes - very relaxing with a slightly mysterious/creepy overtone.

Shivur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

What an experience.

FireTwin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:59pm

If Aphex Twin made a game, I feel it would look something like this. Loved the mood of your game and how the forest grows, but I would have liked to see the audio grow too (like bit trip runner style). The 2 button controls for steering were very clever and the more I played, the more I realized how well they were done. I would have liked to see some increase in difficulty to keep me going as I think trying to master the controls could be fun. Overall the theme, mood, and audio were amazing. Plus, there's not enough deep, moody games ay? :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:30am

What an odd set of keys. Floated around for a while but didn't really see the point, i probably missed something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]