Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Switcher

by coywolf - Compo Entry

This is a simple game made in Unity following the "Two button controls" theme. You have to direct the colored units towards the same colored exit by rotating the intersections. Button1 selects the next intersection, and Button2 rotates it.

The web version is using the normal Unity web player, which means it no longer works in Chrome. You have to use Firefox, IE, or Opera.

All of the art is colored primitives. Sound effects were generated with sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#342Innovation3.38
#481Overall3.23
#493Audio2.61
#498Theme3.71
#698Graphics2.68
#709Fun2.82
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Very cool idea!

I'm still feeling really clumsy coordinating the ships and the intersections, but mastering that is where the fun is. Good job!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Seems OK. Is it just the one level?

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

It took me a few minutes to realize exactly what was going on. Then I thought it was strange having to cycle between arrows. But once I figured things out I was really enjoying it! After awhile I felt that the game's flow was strangely calming.
Great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

This game is hard. I need at least to be able to use the mouse for fast selection.
Except for that, it it interesting. Tho I think would have been better if you arranged the levels manually in an interesting pattern :D


Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Good theme following, hard to master and can be fun, but you should build levels complexity more gradually, the first one probably should be just one switch.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Good idea! Clever two buttons realization

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Its ok. Could do with more level design instead of random generated ones and some level progression. There some level setups that make this game really easy.

xodene says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

I like the idea but really wish the controls was the mouse instead of the keyboard. Doesn't feel very intuitive.

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:45am

The mechanic is simple, but the game is difficult, even if I could use mouse the choose intersections and change the direction directly, it could still be difficult to handle so much things simultaneously. And the sound is a bit too hash for my ears.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:33am

It will occasionally create some impossible scenarios. Such as putting two opposite colors in the same space. One time there was only one color gate.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Nice job. Are the levels randomly generated? Some maps were a lot easier than others.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Really enjoyed this puzzle game, I liked the use of the keyboard to switch as this made the game far more frantic. Though I did get occasions were colours would be on top of each other making some levels impossible to separate these.

My highest score was 89, I felt the game would have been brilliant if it had a progressive difficulty, such as more units or faster ones as you progressed future, but in the time allowed the game is fantastic!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]