Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dystopian Orphan

by caryoscelus - Jam Entry

A short adventure game about raising a kid in dystopian society. Unfortunately, i had to cut most of the planned content, so there's not as much growing as there perhaps should be.

I spent too much time on graphics, adventure stuff & sounds integration (and on being lazy) so the dialogue is pretty meh and the story is short, gapped and poorly understandable. Enjoy!

Controls: mostly mouse (click on things and menus), arrows to walk, space/click to advance dialogue, rclick/esc for ren'py menu; also mouse wheel to rollback (ren'py feature as well)

Made with renpy ( http://renpy.org )

Btw, except for the main line, there are 4 additional "bad" endings (not full branches, just endings)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#189Mood(Jam)3.66
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#677Humor(Jam)2.34
#824Fun(Jam)2.75
#1001Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

Interesting art style! I got stuck in the opening scene with the dirty river though. I couldn't find anything to click on.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03am

Use arrows to walk there.

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Vera Nice concept and art

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice work, i really like the graphic style, it create a strong mood. With more work, you can do a really interesting game ! :)

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I loved the art and the music. Really created a depressing mood which fits with the story.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

And enjoy I did! The art was very nice, and I liked the sound.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:28pm

It is great to see other games made in renpy! I like the idea of using it for an adventure game. I think that using arrows to move around in a point and click game can be confusing, I had to look it in your instructions cause I felt stuck otherwise. The story is quite confusing, but you said you had time problems so that's understandable.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:49pm

The art design seems ok, but I hope u can add some few animation and guidelines so player wont get confused.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I killed the society twice. I didn't even look at the child on the third playthrough. On the fourth playthrough I decided to raise the kid. I named her "Snowman". She was a happy girl until I lost the game when she was 7. I wish I killed the society s'more.

Bastionride says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:59pm

You can throw baby into the river! Best game ever!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

Awesome game! I loved all of the choices and the art was amazing.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Great looking game.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Was relaxing at first but soon became an addictive challenge :P great work!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pro:
+ Interesting art style
+ Story concept is great
+ Good mood with audio
Con:
- Control was a bit weird (specially with arrow and mouse usage)
- Choices doesn't affect story line (but you already said there was lack of time)
Obs:
o I only got 3 bad endings (life support, ignore child and throw in the river)

Great work!

themadknights says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:12pm

The art is style is very curious :D. I didn't know about renpy, looks fine for this kind of games. I think it needs some kind of in game instructions because I read in the comments some pepole got stuck in the river scene.

ashdnazg says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:33pm

As you said, the game had great potential but scope was apparently too large.
I really liked your art style, I think it may have been better to have the girl drawn in the same style as the rest.

Audio use was very good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]