Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Harmony Bloom

by Bensonance - Jam Entry

Bloom Harmony is a tranquil musical puzzle game about growing melodies and soothing the world back into growth and life.

Click to move (holding click works too), click to plant, mouse wheel to change plants, hold down left click to make longer noted plants. Generally a mouse is important here.

Sound is very important!

With blank cues, try match the note of the puzzle solution played to the note of the trees you can place!

Ben Myres - Design/Programming
Sean Goncalves - Design/Art/Sound
Tim Harbour - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#313Audio(Jam)3.38
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#528Theme(Jam)3.66
#558Overall(Jam)3.28
#787Fun(Jam)2.81
#817Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10am

Awesome! I quite liked your entry. The visuals and sound were excellent, and I think the difficulty curve was just right. The only bugs I noticed were that the character sprite is occasionally shown behind walls, and that after planting one color in a slot, then trying a different color, that one would sometimes play the previous color's note (I think?).

I really liked some of the small details like the bird-cursor landing, and the hints.

Fantastic job!

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10am

Nice game, nice concept

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35am

Very pretty-- the graphics reminded me of Superbrothers, Sword and Sworcery, which is a very good thing.

Found it a little tricky to understand what was going on at first.

Impressive!

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43am

no web :(

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

Really interesting concept and pleasant execution :D

I always enjoy games that make music somewhat a core part of the gameplay.

It took me a while to figure out that you could actually hear the solution before planting the seeds (maybe it's written in the game but I forgot\missed it!).

I'm wondering if you are planning a larger game... I'd definitely play it!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Fun little game.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Beautiful pixeled graphics. The mechanics are also cool but the game didn't stop crashing :(

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59pm

We enjoyed this one a lot, the mix between growing plants and harmonic sounds packed with nice pixel art graphics and a mysterious atmosphere makes a really pleasant experience. Would love to see this one growing further into a bigger game, very good job!!!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

It feels like this would be a tiny part of a much bigger story/game.

I felt myself being more guided by the visuals than sounds themself, but I understand you put the visual cues to avoid it being too difficult.

The overall calm tone of the game is well done, though the place felt a bit too big and empty. Some passages could have been made of smaller corridors or have some decorative props of some type.

Good job!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Hey guys, awesome entry! Absolutely love the art! Interesting mechanics as well.

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Really nice - very similar to our entry in some ways. Well done!

I found it visually difficult to distinguish where i could walk (was fine after i figured out the things were pipes not walls) - I also found the mouse confusing because - kept forgettting if i was using bird or shadow to click.

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Liked your music, loved the idea of the bird cursor with its idle animation. I had difficulties understanding that I could walk on the pipes, their color scheme was disturbing I suppose. Got stuck on walls corners often, which was slowing me down.

I had some difficulties with the puzzles and the order in which I should solve them.

Nice atmosphere and execution overall.

francoisvn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Pretty cool, reminded me of Sword & Sworcery in style and pacing. It took me a moment or two to figure out how to play, but once I figured it (I think!) it was quite a relaxing experience. I did get a little confused with the bird cursor and its shadow - I kinda expected the character to walk to stand on the shadow

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Ok so I got this error the first time I played. I wasn't able to replicate it a second time but it happened when I click the thing that makes the water come out.

############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object PuzzleParent:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 0.containedPlant(100034, -2147483648)
at gml_Script_scr_PlaySolution
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_scr_PlaySolution (line 0)
gml_Object_PuzzleParent_Step_0

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26am

Great game ! The one thing that bothered me was that travel distances were a little too long. Even though the 2D art is gorgeous, I don't feel the backgrounds offer enough variation to justify such long distances.
But still, it's beautiful and I loved the atmosphere. I hope you develop it further !

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

So esoteric! I liked that you're trying something very different, but I feel like it missed the target on being a game... Unless I missed something completely :/

- Where's the gameplay? Progress amounts to matching exactly what's given with what seemed like an overly complex set of controls. Simon says, without any real-time challenge aspect.

- The travelling between bits seemed very unnecessary and uninteresting. The same gripe I had with Shadow of the Colossus and Titan Souls.

- I couldn't work out what to do with empty blocks and gave up. Leaving them empty resulted in the crack of a wrong option. Couldn't see any other control options.

Otherwise:

- Amazing graphics, Sword & Sworcery esque, of course :)
- Pleasant sounds, though a bit sparse.
- The bird metaphor was cool, but there was a bit of a disparity between having a shadow indicating where the bird "was" vs where your click lands. It's weird.
- Great juice and details.

Cool experiment, perhaps needs a bit more thought on the mechanics to make it work-outable rather than rote copying what's there. Of course, I may have missed something completely :/

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43pm

It's super unclear that the plant plots are linked to those coloured squares, took me a good 3 minutes to figure that one out... then I had to backtrack all the way to the start to do the ones I'd wandered past :p

The mood is really nice, and I love the effects (especially planting some big fuchsia flower in that dead forest). Very swords and sworcery feeling too.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Really really great graphics, lacks of a nice song to finish it ;)

Nice use of the theme and well done ;)

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:53pm

This game was really neat! I liked the incorporation of the theme, and the game play was smooth and interesting. Nice audio, and I really liked the little lady character and her bird. Very cute.

Jumpshipmusic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:44am

For anyone interested in the music, I uploaded the full tracks here: https://soundcloud.com/jumpshipmusic/sets/harmony-bloom :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Gorgeous art! It took me some time to understand how the planting works.

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Nice concept with great graphics! Nice job!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Looks and sounds beautiful. Liked the details like the bird sitting down when not moving.
I was very confused what to do at first, but I ran around and somehow pieced it together bit by bit. I missed the information about being able to hold down to get longer notes, so I was very stumped at first. Make sure all the tutorial information can't be missed at the beginning. Also the map seemed to be unnecessarily huge.

(Also I managed to crash it by clicking around randomly the first time around, sadly I can't really tell what exactly was causing it.)

EwChap says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:15am

Great concept, great game. Loved the style and the artwork. Would love to see more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]