Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Pilot

by Budi - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT INFO ABOUT HEALTH AND SHIELDS:
The upper bar (blue-yellow) is your shield - the shield is regenerating over time. The bottom bar (red-green) is your hull health - the damage of it is permanent and cannot be healed. When you are hit by enemy, the shield can absorb significant amount of damage - but when it's depleted, all the damage is going to your hull. And when your hull is destroyed, you fail the mission.

GENERAL INFO:
Simple space shooter game!

Your goal is to defeat the enemy fleet, which is trying to kill you really hard. The controls are simple - press up to go up, down to gown down. If you wonder, it's definitely possible to beat the game, it's not so long.

WALKTHROUGH OF THE GAME:
https://youtu.be/gvRI0CQxpgM

DEVELOPMENT TIMELAPSE:
https://youtu.be/YwQpSc6dZPc

TECH INFO:
Created using C++, SDL2, Gimp, Sublime Text 3, Travis CI, Fedora and many others.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#506Theme3.70
#525Fun3.10
#551Graphics2.97
#577Humor2.14
#632Overall3.06
#672Mood2.70
#927Innovation1.94

Comments

Benys94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

Brutal game, great work. This game should win ;-)

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16am

I like it! It runs, its simple its hard. That is everything you need from a space shooter. I really like the health system, shields down, take structure damage!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39am

Good job :) It gets really hard really fast!
It could really use some sound effects though, but other than that it's a solid game.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01pm

1.Nice sprites!
2.The later section is a bit hard. But I like it.
3.Better add some sound effects, that will add a lot to this game.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice dynamic game with recognizable gameplay, good job

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Hard game, but good and funny

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Simple but solid retro game. Liked the graphics, the controls worked fine, but got a bit monotonic quickly. Solid game.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Interesting comment on the shmup genre: Since you always want to be shooting, no need to hold down a button :) It got hard pretty quick despite my best efforts but I had fun playing it. Also nice 1982-kinda graphics. :)

ripatti says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Simple and hard. I like shield system of the ship. It would be better if the enemies do not have aimed shooting to you, bullets are a bit bigger and a bit slower as in classic bullet hell games.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:02am

A competent shoot 'em up that was challenging but not unplayably so.
Could have done with some basic sound effects and visual effects for polish, but the core game was pretty solid. Good job. :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I like the sprites and the shield mechanics, but it badly needs audio.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Well done! It's really difficult, and I think the way the shield and health is displayed makes it a bit difficult to see (long and thin, and you have to take your eyes off of the playing field). It also goes almost immediately into "really hard" mode, which is fine but difficult! :)

I recorded while I play, and there's a lot more commentary in there too. Currently uploading to this URL: https://youtu.be/TRir3BAnNVQ

Well done again! Thanks :)

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

You can tell this was made by someone who thinks of themselves primarily as a "programmer". There's no transitions, no interpolation, no rounded edges. Everything either just happens discretely or doesn't happen at all. Zeroes and ones brah.

Conceptually very basic, no mentionable twists to break the monotony, or to change the player's relation to the environment. You've pretty much seen every mechanic there is in the first few moments. And it's very short to boot, almost ashamed to exist on your screen for the briefest moment.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Wow that's hard ! i can't pass some point where there are 2 ranges of shipse a bit like this : << ...
It's a bit unfaire other ship could shoot any angle when you have no choice but shooting straight forward...
Good idea overall

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:38pm

A nice fast-paced shmup, exactly what I like. I have to admit though, that it's a bit rough round the edges. Some more particles and sound would really add to it. Otherwise really neat stuff.

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:46pm

A nice little game, though it feels very rigid and could probably use a little bit of tweening and a better defined hitbox for the player.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Nice shooter!

Pepejson says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Simple but quite hard game. Very nice game, however some in-game uprgades or bonuses could make it even more intresting.

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Pretty hard! The shield feature is pretty great!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Challenging, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Well I have not failed. I like the shield bar I think shooter should use this more often. Maybe you should differnt color for ennemies bullet. Someting bigger and flashy.

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Really difficult shmup, and although it's the implementation of the theme, not being able to move horizontal makes avoiding bullets even harder. I think the guns are too far apart, because I always miss enemies when they are exactly in front of the ship. Some enemy variety would have been great. Also some sound effects and particle effect would definitely help to juice it up a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]