Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Way Dungeon

by Jordan Kniest - Compo Entry

In Two Way Dungeon you need to kill the "Potato King". With every kill the strength of your sword will increase until it is a pink sword.

Every 4 rooms you CAN go and try to kill the boss.

Controls:
(Q) und (E)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26am

Gigant. Chinese. Lobster. Potato. Enemies. Made my day.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16am

This is fun game, the monster is great. I like the camera movement.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice idea. "on rails" movement isn't something you see a lot nowadays.

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Nice one. By no means a great game or a challenge but at least I fought some potatoes today and killed the potato king. I'll tell this tale to my grandchildren one day.

For some reason it was funny ;)

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:40am

Definitely stands out as unique in the games I've played so far! Quite ambitious going for 3D as well.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50am

Cool game for two buttons! I enjoyed, but there should be something randomly added to each room, health especially. Keep it up.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01am

Man, I think you could have really turned this into a winning entry if you had polished it a bit more. The idea is just genius. If you had turned it into a sort of two-button sword fighting game, that would have been awesome. I think this came out to be a little too slow though.

Not sure what the potatoes were all about though... lol.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I defeated the boss and the screen went grey. Did I win?
The potato-monk-cats were kind of cute, their attacks were like a cat clawing at you without really wanting to hurt you. And an octoroc as the boss! Nice.

yesandgames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Cool concept for a mechanic. Potential to fit well within the context of other controls, such as movement. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]