Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Dark Knight March

by abuzreq - Jam Entry

See description in the game page at Itch.io.

@ahmedabuzreq

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#541Audio(Jam)2.95
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#966Graphics(Jam)2.27
#987Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1089Overall(Jam)2.40
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

You need to attach the data folder with the exe file. Can't play the game. Will check back later

abuzreq says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

Problem Fixed , thanks a lot!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

The audio was fitting. Good concept but it uses 3 buttons and no growing. I see there is no option to rate on theme, though, so I assume you acknowledge that. Not glitchy and runs fast. Add maybe some powerups and you have a 2D "Dynasty Warriors" style mini-game. Great job!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Although the game doesn't quite fit the theme, you did a pretty good job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Good job on completing the game. Music is fitting and adds to overall heroic atmosphere.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37pm

A little hard but nice job!
I like the music!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Hi abuzreq, thanks for the kind words of Growthia!

In The Dark Knight March I think the music was awesome and the mood was good. I think it would've increased the fun and difficulty if the placement of soldiers and energy were a tad more random (now I could get 30,000 score and 150 energy by tricking the game). I like the player's character's look and feeling!

I would've allowed people to vote on the mood category rather than the humour category if you want a higher score, as your mood was great!

In Nero's Last Campaign I think you did a good job at the mood (and with the touch of humour)! I also enjoyed the map and the historical connections.

I think I would've been more deeply involved if you improve the grammar and spelling at the start of the game.

They controls are easy to understand, though how the 1-5 powers work in practice is a tad hard to grasp (sometimes it feels like that there is a random chance of inverted success?).

Good luck with both your games and thanks for your comments on Growthia!

Warmest regards,
oskardevelopment

anv says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Liked the random speedups. Enemy placement was too predictable, and sometimes the gap in their ranks was on the inaccessible lane, so you had no choice but to march through. Another thing I liked was that due to physics you could take some enemies for a ride with you, and even break next row ranks with them. UI needs readability improvement (in my case it was black text on dark blue background).

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

I liked it! My high score was only around 60 though, because the spacebar just leads to a quicker death. And checking my score every couple seconds also leads to death.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]