Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Resonance

by Starspell - Compo Entry

"A Resonating Puzzle Game" (-minus the audio because I ran out of time)

The object of this game is to make your way through each level or room in an ever expanding, ever growing area. To do this you need to manipulate the coloured projectiles in each room and guide them to the correct buttons within the levels. This will allow the flow of projectiles into the next room and so on, each room powering the next in an ever larger system.

I unfortunately ran out of time and was unable to put in what would be the biggest draw in this game - the sound. I had intended to have particle effects and animations everywhere in the game each giving off their own tones that you would be able to hear from distance. As you progressed through the game you'd therefore be able to hear what you had accomplished beeping and pinging in the distance. Feel free to add your own sound effects as you play to increase your enjoyment of the game!

Controls:
Your cursor is the green square.
Tiles you place will have a read square around them.

Whilst over an empty space:
Left Click - Place current tile
Right Click - Rotate current tile
Mouse Scroll Wheel - Select a different tile from available tiles

Whilst over a space that already has a tile placed by you within it:
Left Click, Hold, Drag and Release - Move tile
Right Click - Remove tile back to available tiles

At Any Time:
Hold Spacebar - Zoom out to see all levels. Levels each have their own colour.

Theme Usage:
Growing - The ever expanding effects and play area. Each room leading on to the next and creating something larger as a result.
Two Buttons Controls - Originally every room or level was going to have exactly to buttons that you would have to control to move onwards in the game. Obviously I didn't follow this idea through. This was due to making the design of the rooms more interesting.

NOTE: There currently isn't a way to reset the game or levels. If you get stuck or encounter a bug you may need to just play the game again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#91Fun3.79
#109Innovation3.82
#206Overall3.61
#515Graphics3.03
#768Theme3.32

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

I liked this! Great little puzzle game :D

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Very fun little puzzle game. Almost stuck on the level 6 but solved it after some time of thinking.

Need more levels!

Starspell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Thanks you two. Glad you enjoyed it!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41am

Great puzzle game, with sound and more levels you could charge money for this.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:42am

I enjoyed this a lot. what a good little puzzle game!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Great puzzle game!

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Really fun puzzle game, I really had to think on some of them. Great game overall!

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27am

Fun! I actually broke the game the first time I played, I got stuck on the two splitter level, and beat it by having some cyan dots stuck in a loop and reflecting them into the cyan shooter (cutting off the magenta shooter). Then because of the way I had placed the tiles the dots didn't have anywhere to go and kept piling up and the game started lagging haha. I beat it properly the 2nd time though. I like how you went to different rooms.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:47am

Thanks for the great comments everyone. I'm glad that you have all been enjoying it (and breaking it in aevis' case!).

lekiy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:37am

Great little game you got here, Really enjoyed the way that each level is connected, however that seems to create a bug when a level is completed by accident without having a proper flow of particles.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:47am

Wonderful puzzler. polish this up, add 50 more levels and sell it! xD It needs really soft cute sound effects for each button, tube, bounce, hit, color change etc. nice nice nice.

utoxin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:11am

I really enjoyed this one. It very much reminded me of a very old title for the Apple called Light On Target.

Henez says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43am

Very nice. Obviously a bit of sound and music would go a long way. Little confusing not knowing what puzzle pieces I had available until I had placed them all. I enjoyed it a lot. Well done

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:49am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

trozen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:00am

Awesome puzzle game. I was upset when it ended so quickly as I was having a lot of fun with it. Nice work!

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:19am

This was a fun pzzle game. I only had some problems with the controls because the tiles often seemed to overrotate(180), then i had to place it, delete it and place it again in the right direction(it then could jump to 90).

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12am

I had fun watching things moving around. Love it!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Didn't quite understand the point at first. At one point I created a loop that massively multiplied the number of moving particles. Neat game once I figured it out.

Gornova says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:23pm

nice e simple, more levels! :D

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:46am

Thanks for the feedback and the comments everyone!

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very cool puzzle game, and a nice exploration of the theme, especially the growing part! I would love to see this idea expanded to a more exhaustive game later. If you plan on extending on this further, which you definitely should, a UI element showing all the current pieces the user has available to them would be helpful. :)

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very fun little game, everything works really well. Great job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

Way to go! good idea ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

This was a great puzzle game and really could have benefited greatly from music but que sera, sera. Still it was a fun little exercise in lateral thinking.

Two things: It wasnt immediately apparent to me that I could place the same angled block twice.

I also "broke the game" by completing a room with just one single bullet hitting the gun in the next room and the camera moving me on. I couldn't re-grab my tiles in the previous room to fix it after the camera shifted. Might be a bug?

Excellent work though I really enjoyed this one.

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. This is great feedback!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:35pm

It's simple, but I guess it could be a relaxing little game. I wonder what you would do with the sound. Also I think the UI could be even cleaner, for the full minimalist look :)

Strike says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very good puzzle game. I really love how every level is a room and how they are all connected together. I would have prefered to see how many of each piece were available to solve each room, but that's really minor.

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Awesome puzzle game, was a bit short but it was really fun. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]