Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

DangerGrid

by voxel - Compo Entry

Can you navigate the three stages of the DANGERGRID with just two buttons?! Hold BOTH BUTTONS to perform a DANGERBOOST! (Game ends after third 'tank level')

About 80% complete. Some resolution related bugs may occur when not playing at 1080p.

Did you know? You can press Right Shift to skip a level! Yay for cheating!


19/12/15 - Uploaded OSX version to itch.io. Resolution fix for non 1080p windows users coming soon. Maybe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

Super slick graphics! Is there any way to avoid the tank fire? Ooh, I missed the "boost" hint. Anyway, really cool!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Very cool! Felt very much like I was sitting at an old arcade machine! Could use some music and the tank combat was a little lacking (no way to dodge?), but overall well done!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Yeah this looks nice... remembers me to SpaceHarrier a bit... and StarFox... the first level was great... but the second one was rteally hard... died terrible :D Nice graphics and super nice gameplay... feels polished...Good Job

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

First level was very fun! Didn't quite understand the tank level.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

Looks really good! Reminds me of Star Fox (which I loved). To me the sound effect when you hit a rock sounds like a harmless bounce.

bitslap says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Awesome speed feels. I really loved the art. Only request would be more straight danger gameplay and extravagant collisions! Sound and art is good and contributes to the overall feel.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I really enjoyed the visual feel and flying in the canyon was cool. Though it was a bit slow in the beginning, it picked up pace/challenge quite nicely afterwards. The second phase was very confusing and after being destroyed (?) there was nothing I could do but exit the game. It is a very nice start for a racer-type game though so hope you dev some more on it.

euske says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Yer game is teh best, voxel! \o/

It had a very nice feel. I couldn't beat level 5 or something.

Hint for others: At the tank level, you can avoid tank fire by boosting. When you approach a tank, your cursor can lock on and start firing.

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22pm

The first two level is really fine but after that it became impossible.

It's a good looking game so it's probably fine.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Very beautiful game! I love the controls and I also love how the health slowly regenerates. I made it to the 6th level (aka the 3rd tank level).

Tijn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:45am

Could I navigate the DANGERGRID with just two buttons?! Well, no actually.

But an amazing game anyway! The feel of it all is really great. The look is really cool, but the music's not bad either. And come on... boosting through a canyon and blowing up tanks, all the stuff an 80s kid like me could wish for.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice game.

You could've used music, nothing says DANGER like some DANGEROUS music.

Glad there is a way to skip a level, because now I might come back and see if I can beat it, but I had to stop because my chicken was simmering (still is, just had to tend to it).

The graphics were neat looking, I like it. Were the levels randomly generated?

I think I would've preferred it if in 3rd person mode when getting knocked around that the camera stayed more or less centered on the ship. When it was offset from the ship I felt like I was at a disadvantage because I couldn't see properly. It made it difficult and didn't seem like that difficulty was meant to be there.

Wasn't sure what the non-tanks were on the tank level (saw them in the second tank level). What did they do?

The intros into the levels (particularly the tank ones) could be much shorter. I also think you could maybe turn the boost into a fire button during the tank levels. This would up the skill level from just flying by the tanks fast into actually dodging and firing at the tanks.

I like it.

Anachron says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:09am

Yeah trench run! I want lasers to blow stuff up pew pew. Tank level reminded me a bit of old PC game Stellar 7, love it. Camera moved to the side when I get bounced around a lot, was slow to center again... maybe not intentional.

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Awesome. Tank battles very hard until I read the "boost" ability. Still decently challenging but doable after that. Great 3d and flying-feeling. Fantastic work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]