Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

I must speak but there is only bongos

by Ysty - Compo Entry

You work on a construction site, helping put together buildings by ordering a crane around (I think that's what people do on construction sites, right?). One day, a wizard steals your voice, because wizards are assholes. If you don't manage to finish the first nine floors of your current project today, you'll be fired!

Your only remaining option is to communicate with the crane driver through the medium of bongos.

This game is an entry to both themes - it is about growth (making a building bigger), and it uses only two buttons. The game controls with Left and Right (either the arrow keys, the A and D keys or the left and right bumpers on a 360 Controller).

The second screenshot is a (speeded up) gif, if you want to see the game in action.

Featuring:
Bongos
Astonishingly professional voice acting
Bongo dialogue system
Asshole wizards

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#9Humor4.14
#26Theme4.40
#49Innovation4.00
#86Audio3.70
#124Fun3.69
#193Overall3.63
#242Mood3.34
#515Graphics3.03

Comments

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Cheeky little game. Stacking the floors up on top of each other is more difficult than it seems!

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Cool game, i've got a console showing null excepetions when i land the first floor not correctly :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice game

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Really cool game if you ask me, it could play a bit faster (especially after placing a floor), but except for that: cool!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Fun game. Well done :)

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Very innovative, but gets a bit repetitive after a while. Cool to see games that combine both themes, and do it well. The voice acting is hilarious. Well done!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Love that its voice acted.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Ha, the first game to make me smirk! Absolutely brilliant. :D

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Fun game. Now I know what to do if a wizard steals my voice.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Very good! :) There's a lot of awesome stuff here!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Really lovely game, oozes charm, difficult as heck too :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I have no mouth and I must scream about how fun your game was

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I haven't excepted voice acting, nice game and fun concept.

Indiestry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

What an awesome idea! I wanna live in that building now ;)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Haha! Very very well done! I saved the orphans <3 The physics were ridiculous but it definitely added to the charm. Good luck!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Funny, challenging game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

aplomb says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

How high do you have to get to come up with this? I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]