Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Ray!!

by angela - Jam Entry

Well, we thought up this elaborate backstory involving alien abduction and a daring escape -- but none of it really matters! Here's the game: You have a ray gun. You need to get to the door.

The pink stuff grows up, the green stuff grows sideways. (We call them "Verticite and Horizontium". Cause we're dorks.) The aliens don't shoot, but if they touch you, you will expand and die. The puzzles are kind of easy, but we're hoping you see the merit in the idea :)

It's all Javascript. We used the Crafty.js engine, and music was made in FLStudio.

We are a family of Video game makers. We call ourselves Modulus 360 (because we're dorks.)
Angela - Code and Art
Mike - Code and Art
Alex & Zach - FLStudio Wizards, alpha testers, and really great kids.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#414Audio(Jam)3.20
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

That was actually really fun hahahaha.
The music was nice for just zoning out and figuring out the different challenges. I got stuck on the level where you have the t intersection between vertical and horizontal, timing that was a bit too hard for me.

I love the slow mo moon walk of the character, pretty neat. I wish I could've beaten that level!

Simple design but fun.

Would be a neat puzzle platformer to see expanded and with tighter controls and animations.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Good music, and interesting growing mechanic!

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Phallus game ? ^^ Cool !

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

You've got an interesting concept going on there. There is however a bug: if you drop a block on an enemy, the enemy gets stuck. You can't shoot him, because it will also trigger the block. But if you push the block, you die.

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35pm

@TomenLuca - Lol - ya, we know. We were butting up against the deadline and our aliens were still walking backwards, and we got that problem fixed and were like - "it's playable! ship it! " haha. We'll probably wait until after the compo to fix some of the bugs, casue we're not real sure about the rules on making changes during judging. Thanks for the feedback!

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41pm

@blackwires - I really thought there would be a lot more phallus games! When we were thinking up ideas, I kept saying "I can't help it! It's the only thing that comes to mind!" lol. But, I guess I'm the only with my mind in the gutter. Well, me and you - apparently :P

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great gameplay idea, and good realization too. I love the "Grow rays" much. Simple but fun.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:32pm

small and interesting game, puzzle mechanic has a strong concept and music is great)

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice puzzle game concept and good music. There seem to be a few bugs. When you die, the music will die with you and it takes a while before it comes back. When you move a block to a moving alien, it will get caught inside of the block. The collsion detection seems a bit too exact, sometimes it's better to have smaller hit boxes. Would be great if there were sound effects.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Good level design and cool mechanic. Some of the graphics might need touching up, but the backgrounds look very good, and I liked the fact that the aliens grow when they're hit by your ray. Nice font in the messages, too. The music is pretty great; I got a kind of 80s NES vibe from it. I like that you implemented a reset button, since you're going to lock yourself out of victory a lot.

Something to improve: would be good if the levels reset themselves when you died.

Very nice entry.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Great concept, and good use of the theme. (also, 'Verticite and Horizontium' reminds me of the element names in Megalomania!) :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]