Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Magical Girl Cannon

by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

Meet Magical Girl Cannon and help her defeat endless waves of enemies!
Use 3 powerful attacks with Q,W,E, while dodging with arrow keys.
And watch as more enemies are killed, Cannon's powers keep growing and starts dealing insane amount of damage!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#651Graphics(Jam)3.18
#705Humor(Jam)2.29
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#912Mood(Jam)2.52
#953Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1068Theme(Jam)2.32

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Very fun bullet hell game. I the art is very cute too. ^_^

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

I'm very impressed by the amount of work you were able to get done over the weekend. I had fun testing your game, and it ran and played very smoothly. However, a couple things about it kept bugging me. First of all, it was really hard to dodge bullets. This is mostly because the player's hitbox is too long, resulting in some really awkward movement when trying to avoid bullets. I also didn't pay much attention to the Mana stat, and mostly felt like it got in the way of the game.
Besides these complaints, I did like your game! The art was cute and clean, and the soundtrack fit in well. Congratulations!

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

Cute girl and the game runs fine. I liked how mana regens really fast so I can spam my abilities a lot. However, for a bullet hell type of game dodging bullets is really hard and I found myself just face-tanking enemies and spamming my abilities on them and surviving for a long time. This kind of gameplay (where you can't really avoid damage) works in some cases but the game has to be built around it, and I don't think bullet hell games fit here. It could be that I'm just bad at dodging though.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16am

Fun to play, get difficult though :)

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:39pm

The gameplay is the well known bullet hell stuff and it is not really my kind of game but the fact that everything is so well done and working fine is very impressive, an small annoyance for me was that I couldn't bind the movement controls to the "WASD" keys.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Very fun to play, lasted about 5 minutes tops, gets quite hard but that's how I like it! Nice entry :)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fun and addictive game, well done ! ^^

(I've made it until the wave 26 (level 70)) ;p

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Wow. This game is visually pleasing, has an excellent soundscape, and provides a compelling experience with a rising difficulty curve. Though it might be billed as a bullet hell game, I found it to be more about resource management: dodging enough to stay alive while beating the enemy enrage timers. The weapons were good for this; each one was unique and required skill to use. I like how the collection mechanic and weapon E encouraged the player to risk closing with enemies. Unfortunately, the gameplay eventually started to become monotone, as the same enemy patterns repeated until I was ground into dust, while I was never quite clear on my hitbox. Also, the game crashed when I pressed a key after dying.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31pm

nice girl)

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:39am

Being meguca is suffering

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29am

The sound in the main attack is annoying. It is a fact that rpg shmups or shmups with health bar doesn't work (a personal opinion of course), but for this little game it is pretty awesome. Nice work.

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Cute but really hard to rate highly because all the flashing and the slow movement/huge hitbox made it hard to really play more tactically than spamming down the enemies. Not sure how the theme comes into it too much either other than leveling up, which felt like it rubber banded pretty hard (numbers went up but the enemies took similar times to die). Definitely quite polished for the time though.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

Funny game. Nice job.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:04am

I liked that you have three attacks, makes for a bit of variety. I wish there was likewise a bigger variety of enemies, they are very samey. In fact, I didn't feel there was any difference between them.
I didn't feel punished for getting hit, I felt like I could pretty much get hit all the time and nothing would happen.
I have reached wave 26.

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice! I always love to see shmups in Ludum Dare. Great graphics & music and it's a lot of fun. Mechanically it's an interesting take on a shmup - the combination of the slowish movement, big hitbox and the visual effects made it a bit hard to dodge shots, but I guess it didn't really matter since I had so much HP. Felt a bit easy to me; generally I would prefer easier dodging but being more fragile like a traditional shmup but maybe that's just my taste. Regardless it was really fun, nice work!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/26/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-03/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]