Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Giant Frog

by pl0xz0rz - Compo Entry

You are a frog in a mad science lab. You have been empowered to be able to grow. Escape the lab.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#654Humor1.92
#859Mood1.71
#897Graphics1.80
#914Innovation2.08
#947Theme2.24
#949Fun1.96
#970Overall1.92

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Pretty hard to play, since the platforming is wonky.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

The game feels really unstable and not really finished :I

AsixJin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15am

This game feels unfinished and was very frustrating to play. Did not know what I was doing most of the time.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12am

Hahhaha how the hell how I can eat the first butterfly?
Frustrating but funny!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

I think the base idea is quite good, however, I guess you lacked time to polish the gameplay. The controls are quite difficult to use, and the start of the game is a bit too hard (at least to me). I read the instructions, but I couldn't break ice blocks (maybe I wasn't big enough?).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Not a bad game. It seems to me that it is a pretty starter to do something interesting. However the controls are a little bit weird. Need to be fixed. Well done ++

dusho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:46pm

weird physics when it comes to collisions and bouncing

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Your collision detect is like mine :) Nice game! But I don't know how do I win. :)

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I get what you were trying to do with the platforming, but it's really, really hard to do anything when you've got momentum-based controls and collision that brings you to a complete stop upon grazing a wall. I also didn't like how, when trying to trampoline up to the top of the right of the start, tapping the corner of the red block killed my momentum.

There's not a whole lot to this game. I assumed I was supposed to eat the flies until I was strong enough to kill the rats? That's a good progression, but I wasn't able to progress at all!

The art could really use some improvement, took me a long time to figure out the red tiles are springy. Frog and rat look decent and consistent, but the fly looks more like a butterfly!

Good interpretation of the theme, I just would have liked to be able to progress at all!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Actually, the black walls are the only ones that stop you when you graze them, but they are climbable.

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:48pm

The controls felt broken, and the gameplay was lacking. i couldn't get past the walljumping segment, or maybe you had to use the red blocks as a trampoline? i couldn't get past that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]