Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Omega Arena

by Masuno - Jam Entry

A short game where you fight through an arena in order to grow stronger, and come to fight some guy named Omega.

[Arrow Keys], [LMB] to move.
[Z], [Enter/Return] to interact.
[X], [Esc], [RMB] to cancel/open menu.

Update Log:
v1.0.0: Initial Release
v1.0.1: Fixed a gamebreaking bug that stopped the player from doing any of the battles.
v1.0.2: -Fixed problems with certain enemy skill animations not showing
-Fixed problems with Nurse in Hospital menu not appearing the same as Nurse on the field
-Fixed problem with the final boss not dying
-Fixed problem with Johnathon's Construct skill costs not appearing correctly
v1.0.3: Fixed a bug that allowed the player to break the level limit. No more easy time for you, hue hue hue...
v1.0.3b: ACTUALLY FIXED THE NURSE BLEEEEEEEEEH
v1.0.4: -Fixed a bug with two of Alyssa's spells that made them usable even outside of battle, causing her to waste MP for no effect.
-Fixed another bug that made the final boss fight unfinishable.

To ease the impact of the v1.0.3 difficulty spike, have this.
HINT: Enemies that do not give AP have a reason for doing so.

Thanks to MV Game Hub for hosting this game, and allowing me to port the game to web and allow even more people to play and enjoy Omega Arena!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#828Humor(Jam)1.88
#992Innovation(Jam)2.22
#1068Theme(Jam)2.32

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

There is an error when talking to the guy in the middle at the beginning.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

Cant play. some error on begin =\

mappel6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34am

*flips the nearest table*

I used the wrong script call. Knew I shouldn't have rushed the game out. This has gone on my mistakes to remember list.

I'm rolling out v1.0.1 right now, and it'll be uploaded as soon as my computer starts to cooperate. Thanks for reporting this to me.

To future players: If the download link does not say "Omega Arena v1.0.1.zip" then it is the broken version. Do not play that one. The new one will be uploaded in a few minutes.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23am

The art and effects are good, there's a lot of good stuff going on here. What tools did you use for this?

mappel6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29am

@ninjascript, RPG Maker MV, with it heavily relying on Yanfly Engine Plugins.

A lot of the art and effects came with the engine, but, in a few cases (such as Zantetsuken, if you've gotten that far, or some boss skills) are effects that I either mashed together from other effects, made slight alterations to other effects, or for Zantetsuken, made it myself.

The characters were randomly generated from within RPG Maker MV, with slight alterations after, and their classes were based off appearance. I made Johnathon an Engineer because he looked like a military engineer to me.

So yeah, I guess this just goes to show how powerful the newest RPG Maker (with plugins, of course) can actually be!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12am

Love the mood, reminds me a lot of old soul caliber games. The graphics are great and this is an awesome entry!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:20pm

A nice little game, but I don't really get how it uses the themes :D

Masuno says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41pm

It only uses one of the themes, but which one should be relatively obvious if you think about it. :D

Masuno says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

NOTE: I changed my name from mappel6 to Masuno to be more consistent with what's in game.

Just in case that causes confusion.

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:10am

A bug has been reported with the final boss. I am rolling out a fix to it right now.

Please give it a moment. The bug fix should say "Omega Arena v1.0.2.zip" when complete.

"Hero" says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:20am

I loved the game...obviously having completed it...(I was the one who reported the final boss bug by the way)

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I would like to take a look at the team of developers of this game, it has a lot of good work on it. Nice art, nice mechanics. It's hard to believe that this was made in 72 hours. Anyway, good job, keep up with the good work.

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:46pm

It isn't bad and it's pretty impressive to have two different combat systems for a jam game but the slow 3-4 second animations (I timed it) for every basic attack really makes things more than a drag that it needed to be. Making them 2x or 3x times faster and you'll have a fun little JRPG arena game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Very well polished! Lots of content and pretty well balanced, overall great entry!

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:53pm

@lawendt This has a lot of premade assets--all stuff in the scope of the Jam. It was mainly a lot of plugins that facilitated the process (and a couple that, in the end, just complicated things and caused bugs! D:) I put everything together within the 72 hours, starting the new project on livestream shortly after Ludum Dare began. Approximately 8:10 PM CST, if I remember correctly. While credits were given where credits are due, they were all premade and free-to-use assets. In the end, I put it all together on livestream within the 72 hours. You can see some of the later streams at http://www.twitch.tv/psimarth23/, as well as a couple of silly gameplayings I did after *cough undertale cough* :D

@Xgor, The 3-4 second animations is probably the product of lag. Lag is a huge problem with the engine that I used for this, since it is very resource-heavy on its own. It's nothing I can control--some computers just play it better and faster, though.

@Hot Box Games, thanks! It really means a lot, seeing as this was my first complete game. I'll do my best to keep this up!

I've found out a problem with the game--mainly, that the maximum level is not enforced. The maximum level is supposed to be 20, and the game is supposed to be very hard in the end. The new update (v1.0.3) will enforce the Level 20 cap.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45am

This was definitely one of the funnest for me, I loved how many options were available for combat for each player. Everything looked and sounded great, and did I mention that I loved how many options were available for combat?

brandloose says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:30am

Absolutely loved the music, art was great, and loved the shops. Add a bit more story and you would have an A+, but you get an A- Lol. Great game. :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43am

This game is awesome! The graphics and sound are all really cool. It would be nice if there was music when not inside a level, but it's no big deal.

In fact, the only problem I have with this game is that there is so much cool stuff that I don't have enough motivation to figure it all out! :D

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:00pm

You did well, @Masumo, keep up the awesome work!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

wow. Its very impressive that you did all that within 72 hours. I like these kind of turn based battles.

You should have explained what ATB and CTB is before asking the player to choose one of them. Since, I dont have any idea what they are my selection is irrelevant. Also, it would be better to explain to the player all those acronyms you used in the game like AP etc. This will help the player in making more informed decisions.

Masuno says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

@brandloose, originally, I planned to have each boss have a pre-fight monologue explaining more about the Arena and how they got there. However, in the end, setting everything up, all the weapons, animations, skills, and what-not, took most of the 72 hours. I didn't really have time to put all the story I had planned in. However, that's what PostLD is for, huh? :D

@TheMonsterFromTheDeep, I realized that much a bit too late. I wanted to throw some music in, but I'd been a bit burned out, so I didn't have enough motivation to go through the entire library of music that comes with the software (it's more than you might think) and put some fitting music in.

@lawendt, It's Masuno. :P But, thanks! I'm glad to know you enjoyed it.

@Anshul Goyal, When I started the project, I thought I'd give the explanation, but for some reason thought it'd be better to explain after the choice was made, and give them a chance to turn back. Obviously, that wasn't better, so after everything's done, I'll probably go back and throw a lot more polish and user-friendliness on it.

As for the acronyms, I'll probably throw in an NPC after LD, but here's a quick explanation:

AP stands for Arena Points, which serves as a kind of currency. The more enemies you defeat in the arena, the more the arena attendants are willing to do for you. They aren't a tangible currency--just a kind of system that lets the arena attendants know you're worth giving better stuff to. :D
HP is, of course, Hit Points/Health Points.
MP, of course, Mana/Magic Points, used for spells.
TP is the one that's gathered the most confusion, for some reason. It stands for Technical Points, and is gathered in battle. It's reset every time a battle endss, and randomizes (though the software controls that, and i'm not entirely sure of the algorithm or maximum) at the beginning of every battle. Everyone requires it for the Ultimate Skills they get at level 15, but Max also uses it for his Rally and Blade skills, as a kind of anti-spam control.

All of this will be explained by an NPC after LD's voting phase is done, but here's that quick explanation for now. :D

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

Wow, looks awesome

Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I like a good Japanese-style RPG. This one isn't incredibly innovative, but it's fun and polished, with a nice variety of spells and craftable objects. The controls are mostly easy to get the hang of.

My only big problem is that it gets very hard a bit in, since items and healing are extremely expensive relative to your gains after each fight, meaning that you have to grind the easier fights to even stand a chance.

Not to sound too nitpicky. I enjoyed this game, and might come back to it later to see if I can beat it.

Masuno says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:16am

@Christina, it is possible, even if that means some grinding and strategy in item use might be necessary. That doesn't mean that, even without item restrictions, I've actually beaten the game, but I know some who have.

The items are definitely expensive and prices need some balancing. I didn't have true "standards" when creating items like I did for spells and abilities--which is why some items are ridiculously more efficient than others.

As for the healing... well, I'll have to see if I can make the script take a fractional price. I didn't want the healing to be that ridiculous, but I also didn't want it to be "pay 10 AP for limitless healing" either. I wanted costs to grow as the game went on--which is why I used that script.

As for innovation, well, I wasn't really aiming for any innovation in particular. If I can put some in on terms of innovation, then I will.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]