Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Magic Hero

by Mixon00 - Compo Entry

My unfinished game.
Click the left/right arrow to fill mana.
Red mana does damage. Blue mana freezes for 5 seconds.

Sound Effect : none
Musics : none
Engine : Playground.js - http://playgroundjs.com/
Graphics: Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#526Graphics3.00
#582Humor2.13
#625Innovation2.91
#625Theme3.55
#683Audio1.39
#814Mood2.31
#882Fun2.40
#892Overall2.64

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

You should finish this out, there is some potential. Kind of like a tower defense mixed with a ryhthm game. I like the art style.

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

Nice pixel wizard!

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Its a shame that this doesn't have music or sound, graphics looks nice and gameplay is ok (Sometimes the balls can overlap and its hard to notice). I think this has a nice future if you can finish it.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

It definitely has potential. I find that it is hard to pay attention to the wizard and stuff at the top when I am also trying to follow the rhythm.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Neat! Unfortunate that you couldn't finish it in time.. with just a bit more work I think you'd have an awesome game! Especially for mobile. Doooo ittt!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14pm

very creative, well done

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Great concept

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Amazing fun. Very well polished. BTW, if you don't have sound and music consider removing audio from judgment caterogies.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

its indeed got potential, it will fit verywell as an RPG and rhythm game combine
but so far i played it, i only pay atttention on the button, rather than the zombie screen, thus i most often lose cause i didn't pay attention well on the situation
probably need some change on the visual and screen placement so user can pay attention on both of them

but overall really nice!

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Good use of the theme! There's promise here, even though it feels unfinished. Could be really cool if it was finished!

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Sad you coulnd't finish it, some strategy factor on when to hit the last mana ball to shoot the spell would have been great.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

It looks really good, but you might consider either expanding the top window or moving it somewhere else. Found it really difficult to do anything but look at the mana bars, so I felt like I was missing out on the graphics above. Cool start though!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I like the potential in this! Feels like there's something good here, a rhythm/tower defense/rpg type thing. Could make a good mobile game with some more work!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Rhythm game without a sound. It is a very good idea and I love it. Please finish the music!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

All that's missing is a little music, and this would be a nice rhythm game!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Good short little game, follows the theme well. It could have used more feedback on weather it was a successful button press.

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

Hard to play, but I like the idea.
You should finish it!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice try. However, I found watching the hotspots all the time which made it difficult for me to see what is going on with the character and enemies. Maybe if you switched positions - placed the character screen below the "rythm" poart. In any case, well done.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I like the zombies.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

It's a very cool concept and you should try and finish it. It's a shame I almost have no time to look at the wizard, because then I would miss some mana. Apart from that it shows great promise.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

No punishment for spamming keys???

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I like the idea a lot. :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The graphics are nice but is not very clear how to play.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

you should really finish this game has some great potential for a mobile game with a good soundtrack =D

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice pixel art, liked the guitar hero style of play.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Hi, this game has some potential it did feel weird playing to no music and then some of the taps were literally on top of each other and meant i couldnt get some

but i agree you should aim to finish this it would be good to play a finished game :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Really sad this isnt finished. Could be really cool with the finishing touches, it was a bit hard to understand what to do. For a post-compo version I think I would remove the two button controls limitation and maybe add even more "rows" to make different types of attacks.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]