Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Revolver

by scriptorum - Compo Entry

An action puzzle game about growing plants by rotating the planet toward favorable weather conditions.

Featuring:
o Two button controls! (If you don't count R to restart when you get stuck!)
o Grow three different kinds of plants!
o Tornados, rain storms, and snow!
o Your own planet sort of!

Tips:
o All plants grow under open sky.
o Smirkflower likes the cold but hates wind.
o Smeggplant likes being wet but hates the cold.
o Flurp tree likes wind but hates wet.
o R to restart at any time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#12Innovation4.31
#66Theme4.28
#129Overall3.75
#208Audio3.26
#219Fun3.53
#228Humor2.94
#320Mood3.21
#401Graphics3.24

Comments

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

Digging the concept and use of both themes! Very cool.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Really fun

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

This is really inventive. I also enjoy all of the sarcasm.

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52am

Innovative idea!

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Liked the concept, just not a lot of fun to play.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

Was it GladOs behind that game? Loved the humor and the concept. Very cool!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Great idea!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Haha the sarcasm is excellent, you had me chuckling a few times :-) Nice theme use, but i'd see if you could integrate the hud controls into the two buttons too! Good work!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

great use of the themes. it's really fun to play ;)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Cool concept! The puzzles were fun. :)

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Very cool idea, very difficult game but just the right side of frustrating to be fun. I found the text difficult to read at times when it ran over the planet but that's probably my fault for having a small laptop with a huge resolution. Nice and atmospheric (if you'll excuse the pun)

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I won by basically doing nothing :D
The time limits were well thought out, hard to win the stage unless you plan on first round what you should do
Well done game!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53am

Cool concept, and the timing was balanced just right, I think. As a previous commentator said, just the right side of frustrating (which is called "challenging"). Nice work! :)

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01am

cool concept and well implemented , good job!

Fartenko says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I enjoyed this! I felt like God... with two buttons ;D
Nice job!

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:33am

awesome!! i wish we all had creativity like that :D

kabel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Interesting, nice little game, I am impressed!

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:50am

Good gradual tutorial. Nice touch with actually requiring the player to press arrows (or A,D) on the first one. The time limits seem very precise. I loved the snarky tutorial text!

I wanted more levels, but that's a good thing. The basics were covered, so not much I could ask for other than more weather configurations. Good job!

veverichka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Hard puzzles, love it. Also made me smile a couple of times :)

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I liked the sarcasm. Had a hard time with a bunch of the levels, the timing is really tight.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great idea! Pretty hard, but really creative with the use of both themes!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Great concept, and really engaging. I found the smeggplants so difficult to grow -_- the game was brilliant fun though, and the time limit made it very challenging.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Liked the humor and the way the increase of difficulty is handled. The puzzles are also a lot of fun but I'm not a big fan of the time limit. Also the weather effects are pretty nice !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]