Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mystic Sapling

by atrodo - Compo Entry

The Mystic Tree sapling is young and needs fed. Souls of the lost make it grow strong. As a child of a Skeleton and a Wanyūdō, it's your duty to tend to the Mystic Sapling. You only have your skills to help you, two buttons if you will, either push the souls away from yourself, or pull them towards you. Be careful not to touch the souls, for that will cause them to lose interest in morality. While tending to the sapling, you must be mindful of where the souls go. Souls of order feed the branches but kill the roots; likewise souls of chaos feed the roots and kill the branches. Souls of neutral nature are of no use to the Mystic Sapling.

Some instructions:
* Arrow keys move
* Z will pull souls in range towards you
* X will push souls in range away from you

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#685Humor1.73
#853Mood1.89
#899Graphics1.77
#907Innovation2.13
#945Theme2.28
#957Fun1.77
#967Overall2.03

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

Hey dude, I had trouble playing your game. I couldn't figure out exactly what to do! Regardless, it seems like it could be an interesting game. Perhaps some more work on your development skills and then your vision will come through! Well done.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I had trouble with the game too. Had weird graphics issues ... I think the souls where JPG instead of PNG that supports transparency. that's why they appeared as blocks.

atrodo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

The coloring of the blocks is, unfortunately, a known issue. The file is in fact a png, and transparency is fine until I added the coloring, at which point you get the effect you see. I didn't have time to figure out what I am doing wrong with the color blending.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

good first run, some small stuff with the graphics.

MHaton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Couldn't play unfortunately, so won't rate :( Web player wasn't responding to any of the controls.

atrodo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50am

I found the reason why the performance of the game was poor, the amount of souls being processed on each frame was too high. So I have made a small bug fix to address this. It shouldn't affect gameplay at all.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Kinda hard to play, seeing as some souls get stuck on the ceiling with no way to pull or push them.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24am

Keep workin on your skills man, never give up.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

It really needed some additional polishing. The movement feels very... sluggish, I guess?

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58am

The controls work fine and the game plays at a fine speed for me but unfortunately I just don't understand what's happening? I like the story and I like the presentation but without a UI or sound I can't really tell if what I'm doing is helping or hurting the tree?

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22am

different but interesting concept :), was a little hard to play

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:43pm

In the beginning the souls move around a bit but then they all stop. I also read the description but by their colour I don't know which ones are chaos/order, I assume the grey ones are neutral. Maybe if you make a quick gameplay video we can get a better idea of the how and what. Theme usage looks good.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Interesting concept, but I can't figure out quite what to do. "Souls of order" and "souls of chaos", but all I see are red and blue, and I'm not sure which is which, and I can't tell any difference between pushing them up and pushing them down.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Im not quite sure what I am doing, but I found it interesting. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:25am

I had some weird issues with controls in the web browser, and I also didn't really get what to do. The soul graphics also looked kinda weird. Good job though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]