Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion

by AxeTheory - Compo Entry

Aliens are invading and you are the only hope in your Tank. The aliens have a super weapon but its not very Advance. Stop the aliens by destroying their pipes and do not let me send their bomb to earth. Destroy the base of the alien pipe work to beat the stage. Defeat all 4 levels to complete the game.

Tip: destroying a pipe link will destroy all the pipes below it shoot for the highest possible pipe work.

Controls:
Use LEFT/RIGHT Arrows to move or
A/D to move
SPACE to shoot


Made With:
Unity
Audacity
Paint.net
SFXR
Otomata

Windows exe Download and Unity WebGL version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#84Fun3.81
#206Innovation3.62
#206Overall3.61
#305Audio3.03
#394Humor2.55
#405Mood3.06
#617Graphics2.86
#683Theme3.46

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57am

This one is really cool. I got a lot out of being strategic. Or, there would be times where I'd let one branch go to block off another branch, or I'd let one almost kill me just to shoot its weak spot and force it to restart.

I'd love to see a multiplayer version of this, where three other players are the invading alien pipes and have to battle each other while avoiding the human.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great game! I felt the recharge was a bit slow, but that is probably me just being selfish Haha! I thought there could of been more stuff in the background. I really liked that there is some advance strategy to the overall game.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

This was fun. I agree with the person suggesting multiplayer.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Nice game, it would be fun to have power ups for your Tank.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice game. It's quite hard (especially the end lvl). Strategy is very imoprtant here and it's cool that you can't spam space and win the game :D

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really cool concept. Some issues for me:

1. The audio gets more glitchy over time, ending in a mess of clicks and stuff

2. You may want to make it less likely for each consecutive vertical piece built that the next one will also be vertical.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Fun game! Pretty difficult, loved it!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Really nice entry. Shooting the farthest back pipe has a nice strategy to it.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Fun and nice game, congrats!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

nice, very creative and challenging shooter, great job :)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Super fun game! Well done! I found myself playing longer than intended. It did take me a while to figure out that I needed to destroy the green squares though. Lots of strategy and action involved in this one. Great job!

tazdij says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

Overall it is a fun game.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27am

One of the funner games I've played so far!

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28am

Wow this was a really fantastic game. One of my favorites this LD. Great Job :)

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34am

Awesome game. Really happy with the strategy of getting the shoots caught up in one another and saving up ammo to intentionally shoot specific points. Really nice.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47am

Awesome, this is really fun, only sometimes I feel the bullet is stuck. Anyway, great game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53am

Cool mechanics =)

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15am

Very entertaining. Love the concept. Could use a double-tap to boost mechanism. Very much complete. Great game!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03am

nice game good job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Pretty good! Shooting the roots is a great mechanic.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38pm

This is a really great game. I'm not sure 100% why it was so fascinating to play but I think a lot of it had to do with the balance and strategy required. I really like the mechanic and it was very fun to play. I also liked the ending :) It was a bit too easy since you can blow up the bottom pipes with the tank but I guess it would've been way too hard otherwise. Overall a very solid entry! I enjoyed it :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:31am

hey that was really fun - great job

sorlok says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Neat idea, and clever mechanics. Gets really hard really quick, but controls well and is easy to understand.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Haven't seen this particular type of arcade-puzzle game before. Nicely done! The slow firing speed once your stash is gone is rather slow slow but I'm probably just doing it wrong. Very nice.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Very interesting concept! It has good potential for strategic choices.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]