Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PISTIL PISTOL: BOTANY BLAST II

by HacksawUnit - Compo Entry

Guide a plant to the heavens with naught but a handgun with infinite ammo.
Grow the green aura to progress.
Getting hit will not hurt, but it will set you back.

Play the game on your computer, your phone, or your tablet!

Keyboard Controls:
Shoot with the spacebar.
Reload with the right arrow key.
Press 1 to turn off screenshake.
Press 2 to tone down the flashing lights.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Audio3.82
#84Fun3.81
#84Theme4.22
#109Innovation3.82
#138Humor3.27
#174Overall3.67
#189Mood3.45
#219Graphics3.63
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

TurtleP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Very entertaining and challenging!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

Loved the whole thing, especially the music!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

A lot of fun. Really like the feel of the kickback when you fire the gun, feels great to play.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

really fun, love the stem trail and the screen shake.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Loved the style!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35am

Wasn't sure what to do. There was no score or a way to lose. Got lots of green things. Good sound.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Thanks for including a key to tone down the flashing lights! I didn't expect a gun to be climbing a vine, so points for creativity. It didn't seem to be possible to lose or win as far as I could tell.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54am

Title is a pun. 8/8 m8
Seriously though, this is super creative and well put together. Good job!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Great audio on this one. I liked the gun recoil movement mechanic. This could have almost hit the "two button" theme if you had reduced the arrow key into into one "change direction" button.

HacksawUnit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

This is a two button game- you can only hit two buttons!

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04am

Tons of fun, although I didn't understand how the level progression worked until the third level. (Other players: the more green things you collect, the bigger the portal gets. As you get hit the portal gets smaller. Once the portal is full, you move on to the next level.)

As I said in the IRC, the screen flash is awesome. Felt great to shoot, and the escalating music made the game extra exciting. Controls were very interesting and fun to use. Good job!

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Very nice feedback on this game! Though it seems I cannot die?

I very much enjoyed the presentation on this one.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

A clever and cute little package. The way the next level portal scales with your progress is pretty next level in itself. Also good thinking for including dampeners for the effects, they get pretty hard on the eyes after a while.

...But really, space bar and right arrow?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Cool idea, I had a hard time figuring out what to do, but the audio was great, and it felt good

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13am

Really enjoyed the minimalist feel of the game. Addicting.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

I loved this game and how well everything works together. I wish the game was complete (I couldn't lose).

Anyway, great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54am

Pretty much a perfect LD game. Enjoyed the hell out of it. It helps that I myself am a fan of screenshake.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really neat, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

By far one of my favorites. Really good feel, sound and music sounded appropriate. Nice work!

pta2002 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

LOVED IT! 10/10 would grow a gun plant again

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

Great fun. Very nice execution. A lot of great game feel to give the game that extra punch when firing.

Also, puns. Puns everywhere.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57am

Wonderful game! Puns are in your DNA. You have an awesome handle of game feel. Every blip and shot felt just right and powerful. When I realized how the mechanic work I thought it was hilarious. Great way of dealing with the two button limitation. I love this! Great job!

elliottd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03am

wow, this is totally great! reload and switch directions against shoot and step back is a really good balance. all the effects (visual and sound) were great and chunky. i really appreciate the no fail for a jam game like this. plant with a gun is also the first thing I thought was funny this ludum dare

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:05am

I honestly didn't understand what I was doing at first lol. But I started enjoying it after a good bit. Nicely done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Great name, great game.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

well, this is a very funny game!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Combination of gun and growing plant is amazing) had fun while playing!

wine says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Addictive!
Fun and simple. Good job :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great fun! Looks and sounds awesome! I think the difficulty grows (heh) too fast and you kinda get stuck at that one level where it's just going too fast for you but that might just be me not being very good at the game. Cool concept anyway and nice execution!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:59pm

REAALLY NICE DONE ! :D :D

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Great feel and polish! Was really challenging until I realized I couldn't die, which was a bit of a letdown. Was it intentional?

HacksawUnit says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Yeah, I didn't want players to have to start over and over because they didn't have fast enough reaction times. I'm going to expand on it, with the main mode having a life bar.

Robber says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

wow that was fun, nice action packed experience with great controls, i understand the choice for not taking damage, but getting hurt and healing via powerups / lives would give the game more depth i think..great experience nottheless

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:42am

Well done! small elegant game, very fun.

Not sure if there's a lose condition though.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:23am

I like the minimalistic style and gameplay! Cool one! And plant with a gun - quite psychedelic ^_^

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:54am

Innovation is the word.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice graphics, great idea. The music is good. Got a little too difficult for me with the vastly increased speed after 2 or 3 'screens'. The only real downside I'd say is the 'reload' sound which can become kind of grating after a while..

Great work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Does the vine ever get to space?

-Alex

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:29am

The music's tempo increased when I got to the purple sky? Nice addition!

HacksawUnit says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:32am

Thanks! There's actually three separate version of the song that kick in depending on how far you are.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50am

I'm so bad with that games. But here's a challenging one, well done !

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Music was great. Animations made the gameplay really fun. I could have kept playing this for hours if there was a clear way to win or lose.

YinYin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The whole get set back when hit mechanic was a bit too unclear.

Hitting targets and getting hit as well (explody green things instead of red bullet was just a little too late of a feedback and the sprite change before was too subtle).

mf1214 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Fun and creative idea. Good job!

Bogden says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Incredible entry. A bit short, but what is there is awesome. Would love to see more of this on a mobile app!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:30am

Pretty addictive, though as it seemed I can't lose, you can basically just spam the two buttons and enjoy the crazy :)

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:56am

really fun, creative and challenging game

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Good game, very adictive =) Game mechanic pretty interesting, bit a bit boring after 5 minutes of playing.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:13am

Very challenging & on-theme game. Excellent screen shake and general feel.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:56am

One of my favorite entries so far. Definitely 5 star innovation and theme. It's just a perfect concept, love it with the theme. Really enjoyed the music and graphics too. Really fun. Could definitely see this as a mobile game. Well done! Just awesome. c:

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Very fun game! I love it!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:37am

cool idea and great music!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:23am

Got pretty hard by the third area, but was able to get the hang of things. Very interesting take on the themes - excellent execution of both! Very fun game.

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:23am

It took me forever to understand the controls, and now that I do understand them, I hate them :(

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Stupidly fun :) Great audio atmosphere. Had some difficulties to read some graphics (friends or foes?). Nice mechanics, right on the theme!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Very nice! Took me a second to understand how to progress. At first I didn't realise that timing my shots carefully would actually destroy the guns :D
Then I liked the idea that there is no real 'game over', just an end to your combo / green thing / whatever.

Beavl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Amazing entry. We'd love to play it on mobile. Just missing a losing condition, but game is great. Congrats on it!

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:23am

Very solid entry in overall, with inventive ideas and addictive gameplay great job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]