Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Run for shelter

by psychomonster - Compo Entry

Hello and welcome to my sixth LudumDare entry. I hope you enjoyed the weekend as much as I did. It was a special kind of game for me, cause it contains a message that means a lot to me.

Please read the intro screens inside the game. Enjoy playing.

Controls:
- left and right arrow keys to move
- space to skip intro screen
- escape to end the game
- bumping other people will slow you down
- houses and buildings will give you cover

*if you play the html5 version, better use Chrome

Used Tools:
- GameMaker Studio Professional (windows and html5)
- GraphicsGale Free
- Photoshop CS3
- Audacity
- SFXR
- Chrome
- Filezilla
- 7Zip

Thanks for playing. I'm looking forward to playing and rating your games, too. Have a nice time and a merry x-mas. Greetings from Germany! Sincerely, BEN.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#276Mood3.28
#357Graphics3.33
#405Humor2.52
#416Audio2.78
#625Overall3.07
#664Theme3.50
#668Innovation2.81
#782Fun2.67

Comments

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

An interesting take with the gameplay. The other people were a little frustrating at times, and I think it would be better with faster gameplay, and more variety in ground obstacles. Good start to what could be pretty neat!

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39am

Amazing how so few pixels can look so great in the hands of a talented person. I really felt the message of the game. The gameplay was maybe a bit simplistic but the feel of the game is fantastic.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Very sweet graphics!

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Amazing graphics, nice job!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I was in panic with the crowd, great job.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Interesting concept. A lot more could be done with it, though, it's way too short.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Solid little experiment :) I'm ambivalent about the fact that it felt like I didn't know what to do other than the video game convention of go right. Also that the buildings didn't look like they were actually over your head to block missiles. One the one hand it's cool to not be spoonfed but on the other hand it didn't feel intuitive.

The feeling of panic +1
The feeling of getting stuck in a crowd +1
But not sure if it's "fun".

Good effort. VERY short.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting and "fun"entry. Could be something really special if you would evolve the idea. Great entry :)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I really like this little game's simple aesthetic and retro sound-effects. The sheltering mechanic when standing in front of buildings is a cool addition and I love the inclusion of the Wilson scream when NPCs die!

JLET says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Very interesting game, the message behind this game is very strong.

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Simple and effective. Great game with a message.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Of course, the Wilhelm scream! :D

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

I just pressed right arrow the whole time and got all the way to the end without dying, so not very challenging. The people getting in my way were annoying, and there was no way to help them, so the message at the end, while a good life lesson, didn't seem applicable in-game.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

lol. Quite unique. Bumping into other people slows you down is a nice mechanic. Every time it happens I am like "get the fuck out of my way" :D

I think if you and other person are going in the same direction, they slow you down but you should be able to pass them eventually.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

10/10 for use of Wilhelm scream

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:32am

Fun game, I was in panic with the crowd, great job.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

Hey Vic, will review your game as soon as possible :) Thx for your rsting an!

esayitch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:01am

I liked the horrible reality that I would have liked to be able to have something that allows me to push people out of the way... it's pretty striking that when you are in a life-threatening situation most people have utter disregard for others.

Very powerful game.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02am

Lovely artwork. It was sometimes frustrating when the other people slowed me down -- but that's totally intentional and conveys what you want it to. Great work.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08pm

The mechanics are limited, but its a good idea

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Love the graphics and particles! There could be more levels though, or more obstacles.
Wilhelm scream yes! (isn't it kind of against compo rules, though?) but you still get an Audio 5/5 for that! :D

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:13pm

No words!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:02am

Cool concept, and nice work with tiny animations/gore and buildings ! Simple yet interesting game mechanics, i liked the idea of gameplay.That was a bit short and easy once you get it but this was enjoyable.
Also at the very start i tried for fun to go on the left side of screen, i felt safe :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:49am

great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]