Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Buttons

by ahnt - Jam Entry

Two Buttons is a game about returning a possessed doll back to her Big Girl,
Patty after witnessing the horrifying events of a cannibalistic winter in the
American Midwest during the mid 1800's.

Two Buttons must travel as quickly as possible to get back to her Big Girl.
Help Two Buttons speed quickly along the way, jumping over obstacles,
collecting spools, and following Big Girl's soul traces.

Game Design Idea:
Scott Reschke

Art and Animation:
Kevin Ingrassia
Seth Nykamp
Zachary May

Programming::
Arend Hintze
Brian Goldman

UI Programming:
Leigh Sheneman

Music:
Jonathan Mead

Lost:
Clifford Bohm (?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#101Graphics(Jam)4.29
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#278Humor(Jam)3.11
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#702Innovation(Jam)2.86

Comments

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:41pm

omg that art! love of darknes everywhere

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:54am

Really nice art! Great job!

Angelosz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25am

The art is beautiful, good job!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:34am

Beautiful artwork!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:49am

Nice art and background music! I think adding some sound effects would make it a lot better.
Unfortunately, sometimes, after defending while in the air, Two Buttons would stop running with the falling animation.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:13am

The art was really dark and creepy, I liked it! :D
I was only able to get far enough to see enemies once (with a score around 34000). The jumping seemed to be a bit fickle. :\
It sorta reminded me of robot unicorn attack. :P

Masuno says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice art, nice gameplay! Fun little infinite runner, but it does have some bugs I'd like to address.

One, grabbing spools of thread will sometimes cause you to stop for a short period of time. Two, shielding while falling and landing at the edge of a platform, when two enemies hit you (that's what happened to me, anyways) forces you to stop in your tracks, and you won't start running again. At all. It made me stop, which then made me write this review.

Other than that, it's pretty fun. And, nice themeception there. :D

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:50pm

That is a wonderfully polished game ! Really well done guys. Great art, sounds and design. The intro is brilliant.
A challenging runner like it ought to be !

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Awesome graphics & style but the gameplay leaves a bit to be desired. The swinging mechanic is cool but movement in general felt a bit weird at times (getting slowed down by pickups for example) and there were some randomly generated bits that just seemed impossible. I also got stopped completely after blocking an enemy one time. Checkpoints would help a lot here too. With some tweaks this could be really fun - nice work.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:16am

Pro:
+ Great mood with art style and music
+ Awesome story and concept
Con:
- A bit hard to control
Obs:
o I had a bit of unfair situation once, I was suppose to jump but there was a scissor crossing the hole, so it was just certain death

Great job!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great art and music and very fun game! Great job!

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Nice art ! ;) :oooo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]