Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pigeon

by euske - Compo Entry

Fly the Pigeon to the Moon!

You'll probably need help from the Tree to manage through obstacles. To grow the Tree, you need "growth points". Collect balloons to get growth points. Reach the top of the world to see the ending.

Controls: Fly...Up key, Grow...Space key.

Edit 2015/12/16: fixed a minor graphics glitch on certain systems. (Thanks to Tijn!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#193Theme4.06
#259Innovation3.52
#387Fun3.28
#410Graphics3.22
#421Overall3.31
#444Mood3.00
#454Humor2.42
#468Audio2.65

Comments

dawik says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Cute graphics. Enjoyable game. I made it to the moon but forgot about the tree.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

I can't beat this, but it's fun so I'll keep trying!
It might be a problem with my web browser, but there are small graphical glitches at the bottom of the screen when the background scrolls.

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I made it! To Moon! :D

I also got too many growth points and the UI overlapped with my health. Having the GP meter go down the right side of the screen vertically would have not only fixed this, but shown more available points before clipping offscreen.

Still a nice solid entry though. Glad to see your art improving too! :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08am

This game is a little diffrent in a good way. I like the fact that you can remove obstacles with the tree, but also sometimes get stuck if you grow the tree while near the top. I got stuck between spikes and the tree and that's why I died. Oh well, let's try again.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very good game! Although it was easier to beat when not growing the tree, because it got in the way.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

Man, this is my favorite game so far. Super creative, fun, and a nice mixture of skill and luck. I love the art style, and the sounds were simple, but effective. My only complaint is the apparent lack of any way to restart the game after you die. Other than that, great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

Man, this is my favorite game so far. Super creative, fun, and a nice mixture of skill and luck. I love the art style, and the sounds were simple, but effective. Great work!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Cool game, interesting concept. Found it really difficult not to hit the spikes though.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I couldn't reach the moon :'(

Tijn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Awesome game, euske! I waited with writing a review until I finally reached the moon, which took a good number of tries. Once I used your tip of using the tree as a cover, I did better though.

I'm a bit sad there is no music, but the ambient outside noise is very nice as well!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17am

Wow, this is a cool idea! Excellent use of theme. I haven't beat it yet, but it feels like I want to keep trying. I couldn't figure out if there was a method to whether the bird goes left or right, but that was the only bit that bothered me. Well done!

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19am

cute bird :), and nice concept, good challenge too

g12345 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

I've made it to the end on my thrid try. It was a bit easy maybe because it looked a lot like my game.

I like how many graphics you have made, too. I find it hard even to make a couple of sprites but you have so many.

A lot of fun.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

This was fun, and I really like the art! I found myself just flying up and leaving the tree behind very often. Maybe limiting how long you can fly without landing on a branch would work? Either way, I had fun with this -- nice work!!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:31pm

It's a quite fun game!
I like the level design and ideas.
The sprites are ok for a programmer(?).
Well done :)

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I made it, but i couldn't read the ending because it's black text on black background.

Valandre says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:05pm

fun and enjoyable game, it's remind me balloon fight. good feeling!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Nice graphics and an interesting take on the theme!

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Really interesting idea, however I could beat the game without using the tree at all. Also, the controls are really hard to master and my fingers hurt after all the flapping. :) But I made it to the Moon after all!

voxel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:12am

Geebus. What a clever idea. I wish the ending were a little happier but it's probably more theme appropriate this way. I really enjoyed this

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:17am

Didn't need the stupid tree. Left him behind. He can fend for himself. Very nice though.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39am

I appreciated the interplay of mechanics. The tree could help clear the path, but you had to risk yourself to get the balloons. I kind of wish there were more cheese burgers littered about, the only times that I saw them they were either too hard to get or I was full up on health.
I kind of wish there was less noise in the background. Even if that is what a microphone picks up when it is in a city, the constant background noise isn't what we hear. It would be good to get some isolated traffic sounds as well as isolated bird sounds and lay them on top of each other. I also think music would be a good choice for this type of game.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very strange to have two mechanics where the other lets you to go up endlessly, and the other... lets you to go up just a bit.

Needless to say, I didn't need much help from the tree, it just slowed me down.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:07am

Awesome graphics, awesome sound! Difficult for me though :(
But I like it very much.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Pretty neat game. i loved the growing mechanic of the tree.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

The core concept of the game is interesting, with a tool to destroy obstacles that requires you to get into danger to use it. Unfortunately, the controls really break this entry. They feel very twitchy, stiff, and generally hard to use. I never once felt that a death was my fault, and the one time I got to the moon I felt pretty much no satisfaction from it because I was mildly steaming from having to restart so many times.

It seems like the audio clip of the road traffic doesn't loop properly, and there's a pop on the seam because of mismatched waves. The way you'd normally fix this is either fade in at the start/fade out at the end, or: cut and paste the first half after the second, and crossfade at the seam (give a bit of overlap between the two clips, fade out one clip at the same time as you fade in the other).

Still, good use of the theme and great idea. Just a bit lacking in execution, unfortunately.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

I like how it falls in the end :D :D

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Nicely done!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Oooh, tough little game, beautiful graphics! Well done. :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:11pm

cool game, very creative gameplay, well done

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:49am

I needed a little time to understand the mechanics, but once done, it's a good game, well done ! :)

Anachron says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:01am

Goodnight moon. Nice cinematics feel. Took two plays to figure out the tree. Thankful for hamburgers

Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:34am

Very fun! I got to the moon with and without the tree... but was still a good concept :D

justinooncx says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:00pm

A deceptively difficult game, but pretty good! The art is nice, and the gameplay is very interesting!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Neat concept!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 11, 2016 @ 4:50am

Hmm, Interesting but I had some trouble with the strategy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]