Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodlust: Dungeon Of Cowards

by Harsay - Compo Entry

Grow your bloodlust and rush into the dungeon of cowards!

Losing condition: Running out of bloodlust (the more you have the more you're red)
Winning condition: Get to the last level.

== Controls ==
WSAD/Arrows, SPACE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#178Fun3.61
#228Humor2.94
#307Mood3.23
#331Audio2.97
#410Graphics3.22
#463Overall3.25
#594Innovation2.97
#935Theme2.40

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54am

At first I didn't understand why I kept dying, but then I noticed my player slowy (or actually, quite fastly) fading to black, and then I understood, I'm a sword yielding vampire! I need the blood to survive, very original nicely done.

Not quite sure which theme this was supposed to go for, I guess growing?

One tip: You fade away way too quickly, I never made it past the second level :/

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Well... that was fun :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This is a lot of fun. Its a nice level of difficulty and quite entertaining :)

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

The long hallway with a dead end probably made you laugh really hard but it will make every one of your players wish they were playing something else.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice challenging game. It would be nice if the hitbox on the sword was a little more forgiving since a lot of the time I would be standing right next to someone and not hit them. I like how the bodies on the floor slow you down as they build up. Would be neat if there was some sort of scoring system.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

A little loose on theme, but super fun none the less. Cutting 4-5 dudes in half at once is pretty epic lol. Great work!

pompaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

nice!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Can't seem to run it. I get a java exception error on Windows 7.

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

A very fun game and it´s a challenge. Good work!

fergarram says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I liked that it's made with libGDX, all though didn't like the game.

hiki911 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:00pm

nice time killer, i like it

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:52pm

BLOOOOD!!!! MOREE BLODDDD!!!
Ok, that was really funny =).

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:04pm

The minimalist graphics felt very appropriate to the style of the game and so did the SFX. The idea is pretty fun and plays quite nice but I just wish there was a more elaborate ending. Had fun though, so thanks!!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Slicing enemies in half was great.

Afendar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:46pm

fun game. Idea is fun ! good work

Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Really fun little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

squigglez says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:38pm

game looks good but sadly cannot run it. I get a java error when I try to open it. sorry. i would love to play if this gets fixed

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Fun game! The mechanics feel good, though I think the attack would feel better if it were a bit wider (sometimes I fail to hit an enemy, but it feels I should have). Could waste some time here if you created some more refined levels. And some music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]