Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Empyreal Roving

by barkergames - Jam Entry

Classic space side scroller game with a twist: One of your engines is broken so you can only turn/spin right.

We went with "Two button controls" for our theme(just in case it wasn't obvious)

Controls:
Arrow Keys (Up, Right)
R to restart level
Hint: Spin!
For best experience run in "Full Screen"

Created by Justin and Nathan Barker in under 48 hours.
Special Thanks to Kevin MacLeod for the music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#478Humor(Jam)2.71
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#657Innovation(Jam)2.94
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#758Fun(Jam)2.86
#783Overall(Jam)3.02

Comments

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

It seems really good but it's pretty hard! If you could just reduce the damage that we take, I'm sure it could be a lot of fun :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56am

This would be a really terrific entry if it was just a little easier. In particular saving in between levels would be nice. After many tries and finally beating the first level, it was frustrating to die on the second level and then realize that I would have to beat the first level all over again to get to where I was.

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02am

Agree with the above posters. However, it is a really neat entry!

Galan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07am

Clever use of the theme. Like the other players, I found it a bit too hard, but the idea is solid.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12am

Looked like the text could use a margin, I found the controls frustrating although simply may not be my cup of tea.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice twist on the theme! I just wish I didn't have to land on the green pad to keep playing every time I ran out of lives. it really disrupted the flow.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21am

A cool idea, but just not very fun right now as it's painfully difficult. I really like the use of the theme, but the gameplay just needs a tiny bit more balance.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24pm

This is *actually* impossible right? Landing on the 'start game' pad is incredibly hard in it's own right.

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12pm

GeeItSomeLaldy: I definitely see why you would think that. It is super hard. But no it IS possible.

My tip to anyone having a hard time beating it would be:
Spin your ship all the was around until it's pointing left, then you can move left, slow down, etc.

I hope to get a game play video of my brother Nathan playing it, proving that it is possible. He is super good at it, way better than me(Justin)
Just yesterday he beat it only using the Up Arrow button, freaking crazy!

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:47am

It will be fun when the game is well balanced.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:33am

Really cool stuff! It definitely isn't impossible, it was a welcoming challenge!

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:29am

Hah, and I thought my entry was on the hard side. Playing this is like volunteering to get hit by an asteroid. Did chuckle about having to successfully land on a pad to restart, though.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:40am

This is really cool! The graphics look simple, but they form such a nice mood along with the audio. :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

The game is difficult enough without the after death part. I like it, and it would definitely be less interesting if you had a functional ship since there are plenty of those kinds of games.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:57am

Clever restriction on two buttons! I love lander games (my entry's a lander too!) so I was bound to like this. Pulling off frequent 360 spins to correct course was pretty neat. I love the difficulty - It's obviously very hard, but I was able to progress with a little practice. I do think restricting to three lives was fairly overkill, though. Overall I definitely enjoyed this.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:12am

This is great fun for difficult game lovers like me. Good job and good take on the theme!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:43am

Very clever use of the theme, and very nicely made game. Crazy difficult, but hey, so are a lot of good games! I really enjoyed trying to master it given its difficulty.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:30am

I really think this game is fun, a very good take on the two button themes. As others have said, it is a bit too difficult, bordering on impossible due to having to restart from lv 1 every 3 deaths. However, I believe the issue lies not in the damage taken, but in the lack of inertia of the ship. This really made it a little too difficult to control, especially to turn around and go left. Overall quite a good effort for the jam.

rujo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:04am

nice graphics, challenging gameplay

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:51am

Only one word... pain! Great idea. Good realization. But its so hard. And all the time I wanted use left key, but two buttons! Great job!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:54am

Great game, but I agree with the above, too difficult.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:05am

Very cool! Definitely a challenge, but doable once you get used to the controls(still died a bunch, mind you :P). Overall, very, very good.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:19am

Actually very clever. Got to level 3. It's hard to get used to the controls, I think it would be easier if the rotation was more responsive (less acceleration).

danblack says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:54am

You can get stuck upside down next to the start game pad, which is annoying. If your ship was a bit less damagey and a bit more bouncy, and turned quicker I think this would be a lot more fun to play. Good work.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Holy difficult. I like that you're challenging the player but the first task should be simply landing, just to give everyone accomplishment :)

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:14pm

The graphics looked pretty decent! The game could've used an easy mode (or maybe a god-mode cheat so we could at least see all the levels).

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Many people have pointed out that the game is too difficult, but I don't think that's really the problem. I've played a few brutally difficult games this LD that were really fun because of the challenge. This game doesn't suffer from legitimate difficulty, it suffers from poor controls. In particular, the ship turns far too slowly and with far too much momentum to be of any use trying to turn around in a tight corridor; by the time you've turned all the way back around, it's too late to avoid slamming into the far wall or into the ground. Poor physics isn't doing you any favors, either - frequently, when you land on the pad to complete the level, you don't stick, you just keep sliding right off.

If you gave this game decent controls and a better level, I suppose it could be fun, but then, why would I ever play this over the hundreds of 3-button rocket control games that already exist?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]