Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growy the Flowy

by Optimus6128 - Compo Entry

This is my first Pico-8 game. It follows both on growing and 2 keys themes. You are growy the flowy, a growing plant that tries to reach the skies and avoid all danger above and below. Left and Right to control plant direction.

p.s. The source is inserted in the PNG cartidge link, then you have to use Pico-8 framework to load the cartidge and edit the code. Or maybe I'll try to upload the P8 somewhere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#40Theme4.36
#140Graphics3.87
#169Overall3.68
#278Fun3.43
#380Innovation3.32
#393Mood3.08
#591Audio2.36
#627Humor2.02

Comments

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06am

That's a really nice game. Love the graphics and adherence to the themes. A score (plant height) would have been a good addition.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:23am

That's a lot of fun! The graphics are simple yet very good. Having a score as well as moving obstacles would be good.

acotis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15am

Addicting! I like the effect of the of offshoot vines, and I was pleasantly surprised by the non-infinite ending :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40am

Love it! The graphics look awesome, the gameplay is strangely sathisfying and the sound effects.. ahh.. the sound effects...

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44am

Adictive and beauty, i love it!

rockybdubs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03am

fun!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

I have to admit, that's a novel mechanic if I've ever seen one. Good job!

flatline says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

The parts growing off to the sides really makes it look great and organic :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

I just loved this game. Missing a highscore to give it some replay perspective. I love the art style and the way that the plant is handled. Beautiful job!

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

Nice flowing art. I really like the fire effect upon impact!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

very neat! Certainly not the only "growing vine" entry into this compo, but definitely one of the more polished ones. The pixel art and color pallet is clean and pretty, and the burning effect when you fail is very well done. Overall, an excellent submission!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice job, good idea and interesting mechanic.

zesterer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Nice to play. There doesn't seem to be much of an objective however.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

Really great theme interpretation!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

poor growy :( you were inconveniently long but we still loved you even more than you can imagine!

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Very solid. The visuals are a reward in themselves.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Very pretty game. It's probably not doable with Pico-8 but it'd be kind of neat if you could export the final version of Growy you made. Sometimes I just 'wandered' around making circles for fun.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

great growing effect, love it

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

The graphics are very pleasant, I could totally see this as a mobile app in the future :D

A333 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22am

Very nice growing algorithm, and graphics are fitting. I like the how the vine handles too.
Couple of powerups (which you'd need to entangle to get), more kinds of obstacles, scores - this game have the potential to grow =)

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52am

I can tell you're an artist so I'm going to go hard on you, the boxes are awful! Hideous texture. However the plant is orgasmic, although if it had a bud at the end I would get less long :P But good job overall.

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38am

I like that plant visual. Keep up the great work !

zaniarm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I love the graphics and the visuals of the game.

nuclear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Growy is awesome!
Excellent idea, beautiful visualization!

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Very nice growing animation and effects, very style!!!!

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Loved this! I love the look of the vine as it grows. Very well done, very addicting. I wish I could just zoom out and draw pictures with this effect.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42pm

cute

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I like it! Was pretty hard to understand what to do in the start, but it's fun once you understand the basics :)

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

The stem generation and look is very nice!

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Quite engaging and visually pleasing! It could use more challenge though. Nice work!

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I love that you made this with pico, and it's really well done too!

Blobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Amazing graphics! however a scoring system would be nice. i really liked how smoothly the plant generated, while still being pixelated!

xodene says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I really like the visual of the planet growing. This could be a really relaxing and fun game with the proper music and polish.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Very fun!Growth mechanic is fantastic! Good Job! Should have a good soundtrack to play and relax!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

wow, really great job, especially for your first pico-8 game, it looked nice, sounds were fitting, and the death animation was really cool.

the control was nice and tight, and I could easily spin the plant around, avoiding obstacles, and forming some really pretty formations.

overall, this is an excellent entry, nice job! :)

lawendt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice art and controll of the growing, but no fun Gameplay.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

Pretty damn well put-together. A fun little game.

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

I like how fluid it's growth feels :)

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice graphics - good to see generated art and not only tiles from Pico-8 carts. Would have loved a little bit music as well.

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

It's a good base, but there are many things missing, I know it's LD but a better background e.g. would be nice :)

Natman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

This is quite relaxing to play! I love the way vines spread out from the main branch. It's a pleasurable experience.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Beautiful style of your growing! )

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

awesome mate!!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Nice game. My favorite part is the vine growing animation. Looks really nice.
I think the game could be greatly improved by one simple addition: a score. I can't see how far I've come. I can't compare my runs and I can't progress or compete so there is very little reason to play more often.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice quiet game ! I loved licked rendering of the plant and smooth/addictive gameplay ...
Neat entry !

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:40am

Surprisingly fun and nice to look at. Loved the animations and death sequence.

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54am

Lovely game, thanks for making it!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:49am

After seeing your game on a lets play I came here to come check out the source because I found some of the things you did cool but by submitting it the way you have you putting it behind a $15 paywall. I know within in the rules of the compo it's allowed but it doesn't seem within the spirit of why the source is there in the first place

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice and simple! I was just getting the hang of it and saying it was too easy when I lost horribly, so that's moot. A "high score" and music is all you need to publish this!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Very nice entry! A general goal (score or ending for example) would have make it better though... But them leaves look güüüüd!!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:17pm

@cynicalmonkey: You are right.
At the day of the release I wanted to upload and go to sleep. I had an FTP which is still down. Later the next days I thought to upload to bitbucket, which I forgot. I did it now, updated the source button.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Amazing graphics!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great game! I liked the difficulty curve.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:39pm

A very pleasing little experience, thanks :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:41pm

I like the game, though I would have liked some kind of leader board or some kind of score. :)

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Very nice looking game! It was calming and enjoyable to play. Nice work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]