Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zyx's Adventure

by Husky - Compo Entry

I was using the theme "Two button controls", I'd like to let players tried and learned to use the keys in-game, so please allow me not to teach the details here.

This is my first time using HaxeFlixel, it's really cool, I feel it's much powerful than Flixel, but I need more practice...

*The embed web one is Flash*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Theme4.06
#230Fun3.51
#244Innovation3.55
#352Overall3.39
#399Humor2.53
#724Graphics2.61

Comments

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice idea! I like the wall jumping with the 2 buttons feels good!

Crowno says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57am

This game was surprisingly fun. The controls were very well executed and it's very cool to see how much control and movement you can have only using 2 buttons. The difficulty is also very well balanced. Well done!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30am

Nice concept! Fun and simple!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Quite fun trying to work out the controls.

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53am

That was incredibly fun!!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

Wow I am impressed! I have no idea how you came up with that control scheme but it was really clever! I had a lot of fun figuring it out. It was a little frustrating at times, but in a good way. I honestly liked the way he controlled, I liked how there were different things you could do depending on how fast you were going. Really clever and charming. :)

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39am

Thank you all!

It's a shame I didn't make it solid enough, I guess I will try to start from a small one (maybe not a platform stage) next time.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39am

Nice idea. Like the jumping ability. Had good fun. Simple idea, but well executed.

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice interpretation of 2 buttons!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

loved the use of the two button controls. Goes to show how much you can do with so little input! Well done!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Mind = Blown with that control. And Ki-shooting legs/feet is awesome. The boss is a bit tedious though, my only real complaint.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:22am

really nice idea!! the state machine of these control must be huge!
the control sometimes does not work in the way i thought. im not sure if this is a feature or a bug...
the music is also pretty good!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:32am

Really awesome game, even if I am still not very sure about which key is for going left and which is right. But I could complete it. ^_^

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:59am

Nice job! Wow, that control scheme was freaking out my brain :)

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12am

Good idea! nicely done :)

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:33am

Really cool and unique control, it reminds me of the gun boot in Downwell. Well done!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:37am

Very interesting concept, at first it was a bit confusing but once you understand the controls the experience starts growing! It's impressive how many different actions you've managed to map into just 2 buttons, the game feels really agile and fast. Quite challenging too! Congratulations!

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41am

can't launch the game

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06pm

takes a while to master the controls, but after that it's quite fun. well done!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Loved the complexity of platformer behavior you got out of 2 buttons, even if it was pretty confusing for me to get the hang of. Simple as the game itself was, I had a lot of fun with this! Thanks for putting this together.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Hey! Nice game! I enjoyed it a bunch! I think maybe if you gave the player quick acceleration on pressing the button rather than the press twice thing would've helped the feel little. All in all really cool!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice game! I liked the controls and has a funny gameplay.

sathorn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice game :) , although i found the controls to be rather awkward and difficult to use

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29am

I had a lot of trouble with the controls, but surprisingly walljumping felt INSANELY intuitive and good! You did an interesting job incorporating all the controls with two buttons, even if I had trouble wrapping my head around it!

candlesan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:45am

Wall jumping was fun.

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice game! I had a hard time understanding the controls at first but when, I was able to finish it. However the controls can be a little confusing at some times.
Also the level design if pretty good.
Great work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Controls nicely for just 2 buttons!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:28pm

The controls took a while to get used too, but once i figured them out, it was smooth sailing. i really liked the final boss fight too!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Really good use of just 2 buttons!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:23pm

That was amazing. I love how you managed to get so many different mechanics from just two buttons. I admit I got a little frustrated at the part with the wall-jumping puzzle, but I kept at it because it was still fun. I do feel the controls could be a bit tighter as the speed seems inconsistent even when I do the same things. Anyway, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]