Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vectrex 2: Neon Boogaloo

by ChainedLupine - Jam Entry

This in my game! You can make a spaceship bigger by pressing the X key! Wow!

Actually, I didn't finish my game for this Ludum Dare. Since I'd entered a number of LDs, you think I'd know better by now! Despite not finishing a game, I did manage to have a lot of fun hanging out with the LD crowd and sharing the LD experience. And that, to me, is what Ludum Dare is all about.

About what I have up here. It's a Pixi.JS demo with a custom vector wireframe 3D engine. My goal was to make an old-style arcade game that played similar to a reverse-Hexagon, where you navigated a wireframe ship through a solid-filled puzzle with progressively narrower/shifty corridors.

About the engine: Models are stored as Wavefront OBJ files and parsed by wireframe.js. They are turned into a series of vertices and lines. Wireframe.js then performs all of the matrix math necessary, including converting 3D vertices into a series of screen-space 2D lines. These lines are then rendered by Pixi.js as a Graphics object.

Because the 3D engine is doing everything but actually rasterizing the lines, wireframe.js works with the standard HTML5 Canvas. (Use the Canvas link to try it out.)

Currently I am using Pixi.js along with a few WebGL shaders to give it that nice glowy vector look!

Things missing: No screen-space clipping, at all. (Watch as the spaceship turns inside out if you move it behind the camera!) No backface culling. (Duh, it's 80s wireframes, who needs that?)

Note: I am using THREE.js, but only for the linear algebra math stuff. Cuz I am tired of re-writing Vector and Matrix operations in yet another language.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

Well it definitely looks cool! Would love to see the ship flying in an environment.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

Great job with the custom 3D engine! When can we expect Vectrex 3: Electric Boogaloo?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Well the graphics are nice at least :)

Are you still going to build a full game with it?

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:04am

I love vectrex stuff, please do something amazing with this. :3

Headmade says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22am

Neat demo. Better luck next time with your game.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:53am

Pretty cool demo, some sound/music could be nice to really set up the mood

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Definitely a good looking spinning vector ship, gives me the thought of a HD remake of the original Elite, using vector graphics to keep the wireframe look.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Cool graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]