Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Mad Circle For The Glorious Dice Tower

by Volatile Dove - Compo Entry

"The Mad Circle For The Glorious Dice Tower" is a dumb game which will wear out your mind until exhaustion.

Select the right dice at the right time! Beware of evil dice permutations! Raise the Dice Tower through six levels of growing madness!

Made in one day (I didn't had time to work on it Sunday, actually).

I put it also on itch.io: http://volatile-dove.itch.io/the-mad-circle-for-the-glorious-dice-tower (You can get it there if ever the links below do not work).

HOW IT'S DONE

Made with the Volatile Dove Engine (https://github.com/phrounz/volatile-dove-engine), an open-source C++ game engine I wrote myself over the last years. It's quite practical for Ludum Dare, you may check it out!

Graphics, sounds and pictures made by me, of course. Font is http://www.dafont.com/brady-bunch.font (free fonts are allowed as far as I understand the Compo rules). Dices are from a board game I have, I don't think they are subject to copyright, haha. Music by me... I won't be offended if you turn it off, even if it is part of the experience and evolves through the game :p

INSTRUCTIONS

=> On Windows:
Unzip the file, open the folder. Run App_VS2008_OpenGL.exe
If it does not work, run App_VS2013_DX_Desktop.exe (this latter probably requires Win8 or later)

=> On Linux:
!! Linux support is experimental and may be slow, please judge with the Windows version if possible. !!
Ubuntu 14.04 is advised.
Open a console and type:
cd WorkDir/
# install dependancies on Ubuntu/Debian or similar
# if you don't have this kind of distro, you should read it
# and find the required corresponding packages
sudo sh Install_Linux_Dependancies_Ubuntu_14_04.sh
# make executable
chmod u+x App_Linux
# run the game
./App_Linux


IN-GAME COMMANDS

Left click and right click (mouse position does not matter).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Humor3.50
#170Innovation3.70
#339Audio2.95
#586Fun3.00
#590Graphics2.90
#602Overall3.10
#633Mood2.75
#839Theme3.15
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really interesting game? I don't think I understood the "key" at the bottom of the screen correctly, looking back on it, it might be something super simple and I am just not too smart. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rQfOYGAIpM0

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

@Jupiter_Hadley I saw your video, nice; it's quite simple actually, at the bottom-right of the screen there are two dice which are "permuted". If there is a 4 red and a 3 blue, for example, you have to select the 4 red when the 3 blue is asked, and vice versa.

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Interesting concept - quite different from what I expected from the screenshot. :-) I liked the idea with the permutation and that the rules changed during the game.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Mouth noise music is the best. Nice idea to use only photos as graphics.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

The permeation was a fun twist, and made me curse a few times. The graphics confused me, but in a good way; how is this possible!? I have never seen a game like this that uses a real picture. It must have taken such a long time to compile all the pictures into this game, and I really admire that. The audio fit the mood of the game, but if it ever got released to make money it should be changed. It kind of has an unprofessional feeling to it.

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:25pm

One playtester : "tuuuu tutu tu tuuu tulu tutututu..."

Another one : "Please stop playing this game. I hope you and its author die a burning, horrible death."

Last one : "Agaiiin !! :D"

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Photorealistic;) graphic and perfectly fitting OST with mutiple tracks (no, I'm serious, it fits, especially in auto-mode). Would like some feedback how well I'm doing (score or timer).

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:13am

Interesting matching game. Music is certainly unique - I especially like the creaky chair in the first level tune. xD

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Pretty fun game overall; the UI is simple and easy to understand, altough the Manual mode was way funnier to play than the rotating mode, mainly because the time constraint made it more challenging and hectic.
Also you have a beautiful singing voice, 10/10.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]