Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Heart

by chr15m - Compo Entry

growing a heart

instructions: click the white square and drag

html5 game using React and ClojureScript and Matter.js and sfxr.me

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#289Graphics3.47
#365Mood3.13
#440Audio2.71
#689Innovation2.78
#836Fun2.56
#857Theme3.06
#873Overall2.68
#2210Coolness20%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

Neat! I didn't know why I was doing what I was doing until the end though.

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

You should try adding some basic instructions. It took me a minute to figure out.

chr15m says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

instructions: click the white square and drag! sorry!

DifferentName says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

I understand not having time to get instructions into the game (I didn't), but you can at least put them in the description.

I wish there was a little more to it. I didn't know if there was a purpose to the different boxes or if the stars were for anything. Maybe there's not, besides getting to the end?

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

This is a cute small game! I really love that you included a quote - made it feel more meaningful. I hope you inspire some more people with it :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

A unicode game with no snowman! It has a good feel to it.

mard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

The game looks and sounds nice, but there isn't that much to it in terms of gameplay. Still very good nice game

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice and simple. I like it. Only found one minor bug. The sound stopped after I finished the game the first time. I had to reload the page to get it back.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I like its simplicity and responsiveness. Would be great to have some losing condition - maybe timer (time pressure) or maybe that some of the rounded rectangles are deadly if you touch them..

justinooncx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02am

An odd experience. I admit I don't quite get it. Still, it FEELS good.

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Simple and it responds well, I just wish there was a little more to it. Visually, I liked it, but the audio beeps were kind of rough on my ears

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Didn't understand what I've done, but I liked it. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]