Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BINDAFFIX

by the31 - Compo Entry

Use the power of the BINDAFFIX to ascend the mountain! Battle enemies, train your team, and overcome obstacles. And do it all with only two buttons.

I had a plan to incorporate Growing, but as it stands the is just Two Button Controls.

Everything is explained throughout the game, but here are some more details if you need them:

--- Navigation ---

Tap left/right: move in that direction.

When you reach a signpost, you will keep moving. If there is a fork in the road:
o Hold the direction key to take the path closer to the mountain.
o Don't hold any key to take the path leading away from the mountain.

Tap a direction key repeatedly to move faster.

--- Combat ---

To make a move, you make two choices. If you pressed the wrong key for the first choice, just wait and the choice will be undone.

To attack, press Left, then press Left or Right to select an attack. (Note: some abilities do not have any effect.)

To flee the battle, press Right, then Left.

To swap your companions, press Right, then Right.

To activate the BINDAFFIX, press Right, then hold the Right key. This swaps your secondary companion with the enemy. Note that a healthy enemy will strongly resist.

--- Known Issues ---

The WebGL export appears to work, but has terrible graphics and can't save. Please only use it as a demo, not as a representation of the full game.

The linux export isn't marked as an executable file. I'm not sure how to package it in the right way from Windows, so until I fix that just mark it as executable before running it. Also, to avoid an error, run the game like "LC_ALL=C ./Bindaffix.x86_64"

The linux export may have an issue with weird flickering shapes appearing all over the screen the "Fastest" quality setting seems to fix it.

--- Changelog ---

V3 (2 hours 13 minutes post-compo)
o Fixed bug where level-0 companions wouldn't level up (1/0 experience points).
o Made the very first text box less pointlessly confusing.

V2 (uploaded 1 hour 40 minutes post-compo, after finally getting a chance to play the game for longer than a minute)
o Fixed the boulder heap to stay away once thrown. You could potentially get stuck in v1 by BINDAFFIXing a dead Troll to get the Tortoise. The heap would come back, and there would be no way to get back. (Fixable by reset to previous savegame.)
o Did some simple rebalancing to make leveling actually help.
o Changed some enemy spawn levels to make sense with game progression.
o These minor tweaks should make the game a lot more playable, but v1 (original submission) is accessible by replacing the "v2" in the urls with "v1".

--- Post-compo version(s) ---

V4 (2015-12-17 06:43 UTC)
o I added sound effects and an ambient track!

http://galacticgaming.net/hosting/ld34/Bindaffix-win-v4.zip
http://galacticgaming.net/hosting/ld34/Bindaffix-mac-v4.zip
http://galacticgaming.net/hosting/ld34/Bindaffix-linux-v4.zip

The known issues listed above still apply. You will probably need to enable the execute bit on Mac, now, too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Mood3.55
#157Graphics3.83
#306Innovation3.43
#331Theme3.91
#353Humor2.65
#430Overall3.30
#567Fun3.04
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

I couldn't stop laughing at the bouncing animation. The general mood and graphics work really well, and the world is very pleasant to explore.

Possible improvements:
-I'd kill for sfx of wind and waves crashing into the island, even with no other audio
-the navigation was very confusing and I pretty much always ended up trying each combination of direction+holding/not holding the button. A cleaner system might have been somethign along the lines of:
---if moving right, hold right to turn right, don't hold right to turn left/go straight
---if moving left, hold left to turn left, don't hold left to turn right/go straight
-when you can't turn down a certain path, the character glitches out a bit but there's no further indication. Ideally I'd like a message to popup saying I can't go that direction, with a hint as to what abilities I need. Alternatively, at least mark restricted areas with a red direction arrow or whatnot?

Thoroughly enjoyed the game, though.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I really liked the 2D graphic in a 3D environment; thought it was great. But two controls really made it hard to control the animal at a signpost. Perhaps they could stop at a signpost, pick a direction with the two keys, then both buttons to continue in that direction.

Game has potential. I'd keep trying to develop the concept.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Controls were a little bit rough for me. I found it a tad frustrating. The visuals are very nice and unique though, and the gameplay as a whole is quite nice, especially given the short development time. As a whole, I'd say a job well done!

omaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30am

The visual aesthetic is lovely. The game is surprisingly difficult. I like it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54am

For the Theme two button controls i find the decision based games just perfect. The fact of using 2D graphics in a 3D environment was nice, but the design could be improved. Changing the direction was very difficult and has tricky timing. However the game was funny to play and i liked it :)

Nizan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04am

I actually quite liked the graphics! There's something very calming about it. Found the movement a little tricky - I liked the idea, but I think it bugged out a bit. Overall, good potential, but could use some work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:41pm

It's like The Linear RPG, but deep, more bouncy and with some actual gameplay. :D
And the graphics are reeeally nice!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:14pm

This game is beautifull in many ways, the graphics and innovation is far beyound 5 stars. Makes me think about sketchtales and shelter at the same time, very solid entry!

alfie275 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Cool game, didn't manage to finish it, but here's my playthrough:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5W7MNXwWKuc

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:52pm

struggled with controls

OwT says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Beautiful graphics! Had a soothing yet sad touch into it, which I found very compelling.
Only the controls were a little bit... let's call it 'wild', okey? ^^'
Anyway! Good job for such a little time!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:33am

I loved the mixture of 2D and 3D, it was really striking, and it makes me want to experiment more with that. I found the navigation kind of difficult, but it definitely kept me engaged.

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:40pm

The bouncing was really funny. Nice graphics as well. The gameplay itself wasn't that fun in my opinion, but great job! I think because of the restriction of two button controls the gameplay suffered, but I think it would be great if you built upon it by adding more buttons/controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]