Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue-Life

by SethR - Jam Entry

Rogue-Life is a weird experimental thing that crosses a board game, a rogue-like, and the hollow illusion of controlling that random dungeon of existence we've each received.

Can you find meaning before you "Grow" old and die? There are 5 of them to find.

Tips:

* You are always aging (even while standing still), and you will eventually die
* Don't waste your life on the wrong jobs, different jobs give different emotional benefits as well as pay. For instance, a Soup Kitchen pays $0 but raises your Self Acceptance
* Some lives cannot be happy or successful no matter what you do
* Overcoming an obstacle (the pad-locked doors) give a bonus to all stats
* Your stats change with age. For instance, your Physical will go down as you enter old age, and your Self Acceptance takes a hit in your teenage years
* Meanings are marked by trophies icons - you can zoom out with your mouse wheel to see where they are easier

I'm not ever sure if it's possible to find all "meaning" in a single life before dying. 3 out 5 is my best.

Post-mortem:

Good:

* Well, I made what I set out to do
* It's funny in weird and unexpected ways, like to accept lack of control and chaos (one of the meanings) you may need to murder someone
* "Pushing" against a job to continue working there is a nice easy way to control things
* Got a bit more comfortable with Unity and WegGL

Bad:

* It's kind of boring. You end up pushing against everything without even reading what's happening
* The more text and numbers I removed, the better it plays. But don't feel like doing that
* The random stuff is way too random, each life is completely different and some don't make sense. Hey, maybe that's fitting though

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Pretty interesting social commentary! I'm sure this would be pretty fun when expanded upon!

mf1214 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Cool concept for a game!

z3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

Brutal! I love this kind of games. The random style, the satire/analise about and connected with life, is just great! I think it have great potential to be even more funny and playable, but like it is, and played for the first moment it was really nice.

BudaDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

This game is making me rethink life. WHERE IS ALL THE TIME GOING!?

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Really cool concept. At times it was frustrating because I had no idea where to go, or saw a goal but had no way to achieve it... but I guess that's the whole point, eh?

Good stuff!

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

I liked the game it was really nice. I would think you would need a little bit more time to find whats important in the game but other than that the graphics are awesome. The choices were really hard to read because i was hurrying through to find what was good and what was bad. Otherwise Good job on the game it was very fun.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

It's a cool concept. The pace of the game seemed to be too fast tho. I didn't read almost anything because I was too busy speeding through the corridors of my short life. :P

arzi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12am

Quite an original idea and well executed!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I managed to find meaning in my life by, at the age of 80, aiming for finding meaning through excitement, taking some drugs, allowing me to finding "meaning", and then immediately dying. =)

Was pretty fun, definitely felt the pressure of running the rat maze of a busy life. Mostly stopped reading text and just picking up everything though, until I saw a meaning and glanced around to see if there was any immediate gratification that would allow me to grasp it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

interesting idea - nice use of theme - great job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]