Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one vote.

by eigenbom - Compo Entry

You only get one vote.
Push the button.

----------

NOTE: This game ran for 24 hours and has now ended!

After 525 riveting button presses, the final results are in:

54% - BUTTON (A)
46% - BUTTON (B)

I therefore pronounce BUTTON (A) as the winner of the Two Button Competition. Thanks for playing and I hope to see you soon for the amazing Three Button Competition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

Jwatt says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 3:04am

You think you're an OG gangsta but you ain't seen Jazzy Jeff

PoV says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 6:06am

Checks out.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 7:56am

Best game ever. 10/10

ryrypm says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:14am

nice game bro

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Only True art takes longer to appreciate than to create, bravo :D

Corniflex says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Smart idea !

SomeLad says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 5:56pm

This is one of the most beautiful games I've ever played. The soundtrack was inspiration and heartfelt. The replay-ability was unfounded. My friend and I both played it, and we had completely different results. The amount of choice this game gives you is incredible. Best Game of 2015. 10/10. I'm excited to see what you do in the future.

eigenbom says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:53am

Thank you all for playing, the game has now ended. Button (A) was triumphant!

quaternary says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Dammit, button B is better guys

HacksawUnit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Transformative experience. Really makes you consider what is and isn't a game.

Actually I just voted on a twitter poll.
Good effort though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

I am one of the glorious 525 (A ftw!). A clever and funny submission. Well done.

Devark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

I voted button B and want my money back! jkjk, hahaha i saw this after the themes got announced and shed a tear of joy :')

eigenbom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

No refunds! You voted B, now own it.

srakowski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Hah, this was just fantastic. My button did not win though :(

headchant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I see what you did there

ajmalr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

I was rooting for B, the underdog is supposed to win!

plauk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Button A all the way!!!!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Gr8 game

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:23am

Great compo!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]