Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Double Kick Heroes

by blackmagic - Jam Entry

Double Kick Heroes mixes a shoot'em up with a rhythm game!

You must survive on the highway to hell by killing zombies with your gundillac! Struggle throught the 4 levels of total madness and escape from this nightmare! Only the power of Black Metal can save your band!

When the yellow dot comes to the fret, play your kick drums by pressing left/right or Z/X to trigger the guns to destroy the zombie crowd before they reach you !

Play in 60fps with the windows version of the game!

Grindhouse!

Dev: BlackMagic ~ David Elahee
Art: Gyhyom ~ Guillaume Breton
Sound & Music & Lead gd: Elmobo ~ Frédéric Motte

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.74
Coolness66%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.76
#15Overall(Jam)4.27
#17Fun(Jam)4.17
#29Mood(Jam)4.25
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53

Comments

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

The pixel art of this game is really amazing! Congratulations

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

I Really like this game, awesome sound, awesome pixel art, nice entry.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

Amazing game! I didn't have time to see the zombies because I was very concentrated in the coins !

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

Truly beautiful game. Sound design, while not my type of music, pretty faultless. Controls were not tactile enough. Despite this it was fun to play. Good Luck!

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

This game made me feel like a loser. :(

Incredible stuff, this game is good overall! Music - awesome, graphics - brilliant, gameplay - very fun.

Excellent work boys, you are the best.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

@all thanks a lot for your kind word !
@eshford don't say that your game is wonderful and your posts were inspiring !

5you says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Best pixel art I have seen in a while! Music too! <3

craigoryham says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

Man, that was a blast. Everything was great with one exception, the music overpowered the sound of the audio feedback of the controls, making it harder for me to sync up went to time my button presses. The sound effects were at a decent volume, but the music was a bit too loud.

Really really solid other wise, awesome job!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

This is awesome, this the first time my kid has smiled watching me play a game. Pretty Rad!

jward says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

My only issue is that I couldn't pay attention to the sweet graphics -- I was concentrating on timing the notes! :) Too awesome!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

This game was awesome! The art and music kicked ass. The idea was very unique and well executed. I would've like to see a difference between using the left and right arrows. Also, the game didn't punish me for just spamming the buttons. I was able to beat lv 3 without playing the rhythm part of your game.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50am

awesome, really love it.
the beat/note animation when successfully pressed is a bit distracting the next note

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07am

Really, really hard, but beautiful :) ! (And it's me who say that :D). The music is browesome :D ! Good job men :)

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

Awesome!!! whoohoo

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

I love the art, the music and the mood, but I didn't feel a real synchronization between the music and the gameplay. And it's too bad that the 2 buttons aren't needed. One can play with only one button and finish the game anyway, so the theme is not really respected

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

I couldn't run it. Chrome would not run it, nor IE 11. I downloaded the windows version but couldn't unpack it. Once I found a way, I had no application to run the flash package.

It doesn't seem to work on the developer's website.

Shame, I was looking forward to it :(

mobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05pm

@Radstar the dots are synched to the kick drums hit. If the sync is off, it's probably a soundcard buffer related problem. Some soundcards are faster than others :P
Also, I seriously doubt you passed the 3rd level with only one button :)

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Very good entry! Fuuuuuuuuun! Good work guys!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Great, but too bad the Left/Right gameplay is not that much important.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

@RadStar Thanks for the feedback !
- Regarding sync, we had to make some choices and focus and we will add a tuning widget be cause just like rock band of guitar hero, some people have very different timing sync setup
2- regarding buttons, I cannot finish level with only one button, maybe if I perfect the whole track but I cannot manage it so maybe you were very very lucky !
3- For us you really need the two buttons and the mass of zombies is growing that's why how we fit the theme and we really crafted the game based upon the theme ( for once )...
At some point we had to decide between a demanding game and one that was more rewarding and less hard hence some fuzzy design choices ;)

I hope you enjoyed the game still ^^

@roninfight the .air package is self extractable, i will upload exe version asap.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I'm writing another comment because I was able to play the web version. I left it open in the background and it finished to load after 20 minutes or so.

The game is a metric ton of fun. It's amazing. Beautiful art, incredible tunes that are very well timed in the gameplay.
I found it get really hard on the 4th level, but one of the most fun game I have played in LD34.

Congratulations! Amazing product.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04pm

@roninfight Uploaded the exe anyway which is much more enjoyable ( 60FPS and color correction shaders )

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I'll definitely get it since I'm expecting to replay it to try to beat it. Thanks!

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Best game so far!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Really innovative, and very nice art style. Nicely done. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

That was fantastic! I loved everything about it, the art, music, gameplay. Just amazing work! 5/5

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30am

I love this game so much ! It's just a perfect rythm game idea & i want a "big game" of this !

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28am

Great music! Awesome art! Great vibe! Woo!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34am

Very solid game. Very good job with audio and mood :)

Yamzho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:45am

Well, that's impressive ! Rock on guys !

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:53am

For some reason it didn't scale properly to my screen.. so I could only see half the game D: But it was really great still! I love the art and the concept.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Congratulations! I really liked the game, and the songs on it!!!! Congrats!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Amazing art, excellent sound, fun game. It's a very cool, well polished package. Was impossible to look at any of the zombies though, especially later on when there were a lot of coins flying at my way. All in all a very solid entry.

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Basically top marks. This is quality. Love it.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Seriously awesome game.

gillenew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Great game!
I believe that if the notes had been in the air or somehow come interacting in the ground with the animations so would be easier to pay attention to the player animations and also the challenge of rhythm.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Music, Graphics, gameplay, everything done in this was amazingly done!

Beavl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Amazing pixel art and sound design for this rhythm/shooting game mashup thingie! Congrats, really enjoyed the game.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Amazing muzic and art. Impressive entry! \m/

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

So nice heavy metal pixel art and game! Thanks a lot! (Just a bit annoying to not be able to focus on the scene and on the fret.) Congrats!

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Best entry I've seen so far. Literally nothing to criticize, 5/5 through and through.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36pm

"1, 4, 7, 9!" Hilarious. Beautiful entry. Game play was a little standard but the polish is phenomenal. Really well done!

Boberro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Wow, this is difficult.

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Awesome game. Amazing art and the music was pretty solid overall. Had a tonne of fun with it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04pm

The music is just perfect I think I fell in love with it. And the graphics are also really good and very fluid.
Maybe the only thing I would change is that in my opinion would be better to separate both buttons in two separate rythm lines.
Congrats guys

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Great sound athmosphere and graphics!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21pm

That was really hardcore! Levels got harder but still managed to beat all three levels! Really fun and good looking game, even on web!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Awesome game I love the art! needs easier songs though or needs to be more obvious which drum beats I'm supposed to be hitting

wine says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Totally awesome :D
Very well done!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59pm

That was Awesome !! I've actually worked with Elmobo before, so I knew the music was gonna be great. I guess all I can say is that it was too short. Please continue developing this !

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Phenomenal art and sound production, this shit is like full retail game quality. I'm like jaw-droppingly impressed.

Problems?

There wasn't much gameplay. It's not really a shoot 'em up because you're not aiming or moving or shooting. As a rhythm action game it's a little too simplistic.

Well level 3 was just dreadful, the song and the note chart didn't seem to match half the time. It felt like some tech metal off-beat stuff that just didn't really vibe with me.

The very long screen resolution was also killing my eyes, I've played tons of rhythm action games before but none of them gave me eye strain and a headache as bad as this one. Because there's only one button, this also helps contribute to it and general readability issues (i.e. Track 3).

Sorry if I come across as negative, it's an amazing piece of work and therefore I feel it's more important to be honest and nit-picky. With games of this graphical quality, I find many reviewers have rose-tinted glasses on.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Awesome art and music. Great atmosphere. 4th level is madness!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I loved the whole game. Congrats! The only issue was that music was not in sync for me.

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:37pm

RIP anybody else's chances of winning first place

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Lovely game! The graphics are great and so is the music. It is pretty hard to play though cause you have your eyes on one side to catch the sphere, and on the other you need to look where to shoot, so ti can be quite distressing.

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Ohhh man. This is probably one of the best uses of a recorded guitar for a LD game I've seen in a long time. Super cool!

First time I've given five stars for fun in a long time!

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25pm

I love the art style and music. Tough I did not understood how choosing different guns impact the gameplay...

felixreeve says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Real polish on this, not really my kind of game and once I got past the first level it was pretty difficult to know when to play so I found myself just hitting notes at random, but nice entry!

Hegemege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Such a well-polished game overall! I found it hard to listen to the music though, so simple volume sliders would be great :)

Ludic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The pixel art and the sounds is amazing, but you have to stop playing to look at the details, but still awesome game!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Really good , The music and the art is wonderful, I stared for a while at it to learn from the details :)

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

the game is very polished and features a high quality content.
i've found sound "awesome" a bit annoying and most of the time i didn't care about if i press buttons at the right moment or not

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Thanks all ! We'll try to adress the readability by maybe reversing the note line and timing by less aggressive level design. We were thinking of moving the car sieways as you hit one button or another and not just randomly, that would effectively enforce the two button need.

Post ludum version will be on track after sleeeeee....ZzzzZZz

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Like the loud voice said most of time : AWESOME !!!
Best LD34 game I played for now ! Thank you for that pure moment ! :D

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I loved the pixel art and the music!

fractalbear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

That was ridiculously awesome!!!!!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22am

Let me borrow the last poster's words: this game is ridiculously awesome! I'm a metal fan and this resonates with me a lot. The songs as amazing, really high quality metal... the riff of the first level is looping in my mind at this moment =)! Have you composed them all in these 3 days only? That'd be quite a feat! I was gonna say "hey, this isn't black metal", but then I got to the last level hehe! Graphics were very good, too, on par with the superb sound work.
Gameplay, though, is where I think your game was a bit flawed. Level 1 had the perfect difficulty in my opinion, where I could keep a rhythm while enjoying the music and the graphics... but even then the left and right shots didn't seem to make any difference - I could beat the whole level by pressing just one of them, and sometimes I wasn't able to hit a zombie with any of them. From level 2 on things just got exponentially too chaotic for me and I smashed the keys hoping for the best, while not being able to pay much attention to the music - which was a sin! (no, I'm not very good at playing Guitar Hero on hard in case you are wondering hehe).

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:09am

This is very cool with amazing quality! Well done!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18am

@Big Green Pillow ft Mgaia : You are very very true pal, for some reasons we had to chose between fun and precision but we *will* improve. We'll detail this in the post mortem.

Thanks everyone with criticism, this is very endearing to us, we know the *real value and effort* that friendly criticism takes, so again Thanks Thanks!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Very liked music and art!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Let me quote fom the game. Perfect,awesome!)
One of the best games I've rated so far, 5/5

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Wow that was awesome! Amazing job guys.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

You rock guys!!!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:17am

one of the best games - great job

Ogniok says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:51am

This game is freaking "AWESOME". Holy mother of god I would never suspect that in 72 hours you can do something like that. Please do it on mobile and muuuuch longer so I could play it on boring lectures, on ride home, while playing other games, showering, making breakfast, dinner, talking to family and other things that would take too much space to talk about.

This game deserve to be in top five at least for audio, fun and overall :D

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36am

This game is fucking awesome. I'm fucking dropping everything and pursuing career of metal player ;)

Everything is great about it.

Only thing is, I didn't understood tutorial and at first I thought I have to hit perfectly at the vertical hole. After I got it it was pure rocking fun!!!

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:12pm

You rock, guys

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Awesome! Marvelous! Perfect!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Wow! The pixel art is soo good. Love the simplicity of the controls and the audio. I think the "awesome" "good" "perfect" voice got a little repetitive. Maybe if he only spoke when you got an Awesome or something. Great work!

Shurty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:46pm

This game is amazing, had so much fun playing it (especially last level). Very well done !

Saivan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Guys! Nice work! The best game i ve seem in this ludum for while! I loved the idea to put apocalypse zumbie and rock band!

triello says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Awesome entry!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:59pm

This is great. Though the button presses could align with music better. Could have had more strategy than pressing left and right in turns. (enemies being much faster but bit fewer.)

Jod says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Gorgeous. Gorgeous pixel art and matching art with music.

When I reached the second level I died laughing at the blips that came zooming by the screen and I just started bashing buttons. I didn't succeed in surviving, which indicates to me that skill is involved. And that I don't have that particular skill :).

Well done!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:09pm

That was great! Your UI did a good job at making the game feel familiar and explaining what to do! Good job!

vetch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Heavy metal, zombies, post-apo... Awesome!
Great job!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:18pm

an amazingly polished game with an awesome concept!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Metal as fuck! Probably got a winner here.

sputnik says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:40pm

One of my best so far!

gv1351 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:56pm

What a great game. The audio, graphics works well together. Well freakin done

freaknarf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Really great and solid entry, super polished visuals and awesome music, i wish there was a hard mode and blastbeats !

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Perfect pixel art and music :) I could play only web build (on Mac) and the music wasn't 100% synchronised with graphics, but it was fun anyway. Awesome job.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Wooow... It's amazing that you made this in just this jam ! :D nice nice nice :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Pixel art hitted a homerun! The soundtrack was amazing and game itself blew my mind.

Joe Lawrence says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Had lots of fun playing this, awesome music! Great pixel art as well. Good job guys :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:45am

OMG.. zombies + rock & roll is always a good combination. The game is very difficult and I always get killed from the running zombie regardless of getting the rhythm ok.

One other thing, the theme should be two button control but left and right does the same thing, so you have missed the theme there. :(

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:38am

Great visuals and sound but I'm always trash at these rhythm games. Nice work!

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:20am

Love it, difficulty does spike past level 1.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Wow, great game!

PaulJs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Very Nice Game !

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Gorgeous game, super well-polished :)

The only criticism I can find to make really is that it's quite hard to enjoy the beautiful art while looking at the bottom bar in order to time your shots. I had some trouble switching between the two views to fire the right gun at the right time. But then I'm not a musician, so maybe that's just me having no sense of rhythm :P

Great job anyway, congratulations!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Really good art and music. Pity the screen is so very divided and keeps the nicest looking bits outside of the interesting part gameplay-wise.

As for the gameplay, it's very fun to play but feels a bit empty. There's not much in choosing left or right each beat, and there's no punishment for pressing a button out of time, meaning you can just keep pressing left and right all the time.

all in all, good job!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:03pm

@Rodaja actually the punishment is loosing combo, hence loosing gun level hence lowering DPS but it's not obvious...^^

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Simply Amazing

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

AWESOME

dj_pale says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Just - wow! Music and graphics was great. Felt really polished. Also, great that it is written in Haxe ;D

Headmade says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Great music, nice art and overall a fun game. But it would have been nice if my hits/misses would affect the music.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:33pm

A little hectic along with some am I even doing this right? Still. This is absolutely FANTASTIC!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:44am

Unfortunately the windows version started with a huge window size and resizing it wouldn't help so I sadly had to play the laggy web version. Despite the lag the game is awesomely polished, the graphcis are amazing, the music is fucking epic, pardon my french here and it feels really great to play. I think this is one of the entries that deserves the most to win this edition of LD.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I absolutely loved this game.

The pixel-art was pretty nice although I was mostly distracted by the very frantic double-tapping of the screen, so I didn't fully take it in, but it was definitely nice.

Audio was brilliant and really worked well with the gameplay and it was really nice to start of with more slower beat metal to just being thrown straight into a death metal-drum solo.

The gameplay itself was also a very creative twist and it was nice to see somebody doing something else with the Guitar Hero/ Rock Band-concept than just being a dance-game/rythm-game. It was really challenging very frantic and even now I just stopped playing 'cause my fingers were throbbing like hell :).

All, in all; awesome! Well done guys! ^_^

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Nice entry! I feel like there's a reason guitar hero etc have the frets go from front to back, since jarring happens or it joes goes to fast. Couldn't really get into the rhytm that way :), was pretty hard.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This game rocks! The art is awesome and the music is great, if I had any criticism it would be that it seemed a little easy since there was really no punishment for missing, so it was kinda just mashing left/right when a stream of beats came along, but it was still very fun! One of the best games I've played so far, and very polished!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Awesome! Cool pixels graphics and anims, good audio, nice concept! The only "little" problem is that you can finish a level by spamming the left and right triggers... But maybe that's only for the the 3 first levels? Anyways, Killer game! (haha!)

camlang says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

The graphics and music are just super dope. As others mentioned it's a pity I've never had time to enjoy animations because concentrated too much on beat matching. It can in fact be a nice shoot-dem-zombies game.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Graphics and music were supremely polished! My only problem was that I couldn't look at all of the amazing art during gameplay, because I had to look at the notes at the bottom. If you were to take this further, I would love a bonus level that somehow lets you interact with more of the art without having to only focus on the notes... but then of course, get back to the notes. Also, I feel like I want a screenshot of this game plastered on a shirt!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great pixel art, I wish there was more to the zombie gameplay, at the moment it's like every rhythm game but with one key only. Well presented though!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

This is one of the most inspiring ld entries I have ever seen.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great sound and graphics. Really hilarious aesthetic - I like it.

The wide window resolution was an odd choice - it didn't play nice with my 1680x1050 monitor, but thankfully nothing needed for gameplay was cut off. Getting resolution-independence right can be a pain within the constraints of Ludum Dare, but it would go a long way to add some more polish to an already great entry.

Great job!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:48pm

5/5 for all. Great work, dudes!!!!

Yakka says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Really cool rhythm game! I'm a bit frustrated because I'm focusing too much on the rhythm bar and I cannot watch what's happening with the zombies. I'd love to have two different actions depending on which button I use to trigger the note ^^

Neil says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Amazing entry! The art is super polished, just a shame I could not enjoy it, as I was too busy concentrating on hitting the notes!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:41pm

My fingers are hurting!
Fun game! Everything, from sound, graphics to game play is great, well done! I enjoyed it.

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

very solid game, super complete and well made.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:01pm

So rad guys, well done :D

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

A pleasure for eyes and ears!
The best pixel-art entry so far.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Awesome! Headbanging music and visuals.

The controls and feedback aren't as "snappy" as I'd want a rhythm game to be, and it seems like the timing for each note has been made to be pretty forgiving to compensate.

In later levels I ended up just bashing left and right on the keyboard... which funnily enough kind of fits the mood of the game. :P

Ithildin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:49am

Amazing art and sound design. My hand hurts a bit from all the button mashing, which is a good thing despite it sounds the opposite :D

Brilliant entry.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:18am

Wow! So damn good. The visuals and audio are absolutely amazing!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:27am

Wee! Very nice and fun entry.

piper82 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:44pm

\m/ excellent choice of music, amazing graphics, great job!

stefenism says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I'm so stoked right now!

omaha says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This is wonderful. It's deceptively hard. I want to try it with a gamepad.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:05am

Really well polished game!

Almost everything is perfect into this game!

The only critic I have, is that you may make a better use of the 2 buttons, maybe the the yellow buttons are much faster and it should be one kind for each different button (left/right) and pressing both activate the SPECIAL!

Anyway, congratulations!

for sure this game is going to earn some medal!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Score: 18124
That. Was absolutely. Amazeballs.

Didi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:36am

Kool Musik and Art!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:18am

Love the graphics! Should definitely be top 25 for graphics. Liked the music, and zombies! So hard but so fun. I've always loved rhythm games anyway. Well done guys! c:

Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:35am

You rock, guys!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Awesome! really cool music and satisfying game play :D good work

euske says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:55am

I cannot start the game. There's a title screen saying "Click to Start" but it doesn't respond to a click. I tried various places on the screen and a few different keys, with no luck.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:58am

Everything here feels really good.

Only thing is that the game is so intense that I miss a lot of the great stuff happening on top of the music bar :D

Amazing stuff!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very nice. Although the last level felt a little bit too button mashery. I guess I could see it being a full two-button rhythm game, with holds and doubles and such?

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:27am

Amazing work. Brilliantly done. Only problem being I couldn't focus on the zombies and the graphics while gameplay ;) ... Nicely done ..

aplomb says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:05am

Amazing graphics and music! Though the gameplay needs more depth, the polish alone makes this a fun experience. I just wish I could take my eyes away from the notes bar to watch the zombie killing!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:28am

cool concept and game! keep it up!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Awesome game and music. We enjoyed a lot this game. I just sorry that the player can't enjoy of the zombies because of the drums (the player is too much focused on it) but still a very good game. Excellent.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:13am

The pixel art is AMAZING, but the audio work on this one is just, WHOA! FREAKING AWESOME!

You nailed both of them, made an amazing rendition of the theme and, more important than anything, you made it fun, with an amazing return factor!

Good job! Great game!

ruerob says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:57am

yuigoto brought me here and I must say THANK YOU for this great suggestion! I can't say more than awesome for three days!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I don't see having two buttons being that useful...other than that, awesome game, very impressive!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Ridiculously fun and addictive. I actually like how not only you need to keep an eye on the note chart, you also need to keep an eye on the action above so you know which guns to fire.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:07pm

The visuals and audio are stunning, well done. However, the gameplay I found to just be a bit of a button mash. Is there any penalty to missing the beats? I just watched the zombies and hammered left and right as necessary. Still fun to play.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Awesome job! Great presentation! Gameplay is a bit shallow maybe, but the visuals and sound make up for it a lot. Love the Machinae Supremacy style soundtrack.

Nizar89 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Awesome!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Amazing graphics and music! Gameplay is fun as well!

Peekotus says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:29pm

The art is amazing, really everything is amazing!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Awesome game! Unfortunately, at least on the flash version, the button presses weren't synced the the music quite right. I had to push the button half a second before the beat, which really took me out of the game. Great work overall though.

oparisy says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Thanks, I had a blast, that game was very fun to play and got a great musical score.

I finally lost, but without really understanding why. ore specifically, I did not feel like pressing keys out of timing really penalized me. Something with guns power, perhaps? Was that the lower-right hud counter?

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Graphics and audio are beyond comprehension, wow. Incredibly solid entry - the whole feel of it is spot on.

A game like this should not lag this much on web - you can do a surprising amount with javascript at a solid 60 fps, so I'm not sure how your game is struggling here.

It was incredibly hard to parse the rhythm and follow it on both web and desktop, due to an unusually high input delay and maybe the format the notes were presented in. Thankfully, the game was rather forgiving, so it just let me spam the buttons at the right speed, and I had to go by vision instead of sound to get perfects..

Despite the technical issues, this is a real achievement for 72 hours. I especially love the death metal track. Amazing work!

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Easily the most metal thing I have experienced in all of Ludum Dare. Extremely detailed pixel art, fantastic music and well polished all around. Possibly the only game where I can hear chip, metal and death growls within the same song!

There was some amount of input lag on the Windows version, and I wasn't too comfortable installing anything but it was a better experience than the Web version.

Fantastic effort, probably one of my favourites so far. Keep up the good work! :D

blackmagic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:46am

@RHY3756547 On my pc, it runs at steady 60fps but since it's in flash and in 72h i cannot do the mandatory optimisations that would fit every pc. The sould delay varies from PC to PC according to your sound system and cpu performances, we will definetely improve this over time.

Thanks for the feedbacks :)

blackmagic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Hey all! We made a post jam version with tons of imrprovements! Now available on itch.io!

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Very good - pity nothing stops me from just pressing left/right all the time (other than scoring). Every missed button could speed the zombies up or slow the car down...

blackmagic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:10pm

@agilejoshua We had what you suggest! As we explained, the game was becoming too hard and complex to balance so we chose raw fun instead :)

Thanks for playing, we'll find a solution for the followup!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:26pm

What's to say? This game is fucking awesome in every way. Great job guys.

blackmagic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Now I can die...

Strike says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Unfortunately the game is not in sync with the music on my computer, but I can see that this is really a great game. Everything is made perfectly. Wonderful !

01010111 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:36am

Really solid rhythm game! At first I thought I didn't really need to use both buttons, but level two destroyed me. Once I started using both buttons it felt very good and I was able to complete the game. Awesome work, it looks and sounds amazing!

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:40am

Awesome concept, mood and art. But felt a bit like a button-masher in the end. Other than that, really cool!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Lovely graphics, amazing game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]