Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Unexpected Growth

by Crowbeak - Compo Entry

Between being out of town and mentoring a friend through his first Ludum Dare, I only had time to throw something silly together.

This has no pictures, only words (made in Twine), but it's kinda crass. There's nothing actually sexy in there, but I marked it NSFW anyway.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#60Humor3.74
#554Mood2.87
#578Theme3.61
#617Fun2.97
#673Overall3.00

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51am

Here's a log of an issue that showed up:

You startled her.(if:)'s 1st value is the number 0, but should be a boolean.► She jumps, turns, and asks how she can help you.There's nothing before this to do (else:) with.►.. TWICE. She jumps, turns, and her eyes grow wide as her gaze falls to your now porn-legend-sized penis.

----
otherwise, there's a much larger array of options than I'd expect to see, but you sort of paid for that with the choices not really being consequential (I'm not wearing underpants > I'm not wearing Pants > game says "and yet you wear underpants?")

demogorgon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53am

I'm still not sure what I just played but it was glorious.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18am

amras0000: Thank you! Some friends noticed that, but I was showing them at a conference via my phone and didn't have FTP access to fix it. xD It should be good now!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17am

That was pretty unexpected in multiple ways. I never got a good end. :(

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

"I...what?" sums it up perfectly, on the very first screen.

Some cringeworthy description in here, but I suppose that's the point! This would be a very inconvenient problem in real life...

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Ah crap, I got stuck in someones magical realm again. Well this was weird.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Well, it is pretty hard to write a comment about this game. Let's say that it is quite unexpected.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This was certainly an experience. A very bold and creative use of the theme Growing. I liked it a lot for all its sillyness.

davisan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

Lol, it was pretty funny!! :D

CMG says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Kind of an off-kilter comedy-horror story. Well, it's structured like horror but told as straightforward comedy. And I guess it is body horror no matter how you slice it. Your body doing something beyond your control. Something other people don't want to take seriously. I appreciate strange games like this!

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30pm

This was... unexpected but I lost my shit when I clicked in the pennis inch.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40pm

This game is perfect. A real joke-game :-)

candlesan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:40am

Cute Star Wars tie in, nice timing :)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:32pm

well, okay ^^'

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:08pm

II think using penis it's a easy way too make it fun. But, hey, it's still fun, so I think that is not so bad. Good job ! May the Force be with you !

felilix says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Haha just when you thought you'd played everything, playing as a man with a growing penis game shows up. Hilarious! Thanks for the laughs!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:06am

Hey! I was very careful not to specify the player's gender!

Muel says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

I found a way to beat your game.
If my penis is growing cause I'm a Jedi, then I just became a Sith!

Good thing, my penis shrunk.
Bad thing, I'm an eunuch now.

Doesn't matter, had Force.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:02am

That's what I call thinking outside the boxers!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very silly, but I understand that it's due to the circumstances.

Well... I like Jedi, and the ending is pretty effective. Not very memorable, for better or for worse.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:41pm

LOL!!! this is a very nice entry!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:30pm

That entry was longer than I thought it was :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]