Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Madness

by maksibonus - Compo Entry

This game is about a space traveller who wants to come back home. To reduce the path he decided to fly through the asteroid belt. Asteroids is a big obstacle. You have to play the role of a spaceship pilot and to hold the ship in safety. To complete this mission you have 3 lives.
Controls:
w,a,s,d or arrows - movement
Ctrl or Space or LMB - fire weapon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#538Audio2.52
#598Graphics2.89
#651Humor1.94
#818Mood2.29
#822Fun2.59
#918Overall2.55
#934Innovation1.85
#935Theme2.40

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14am

Hey dude, nice game! I really liked the music and how it got faster as you progressed. "Why is the shoot so slow?" I asked the same question right before the text came up haha. Well done.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22am

Pretty nice game! I liked the graphics and the idea behind the game, it was pretty cool when everything got faster, but you got slower and had to think more where you shoot. :)

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45am

This looks very familiar, I think there was a unity tutorial that uses these assets.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:35am

Not a bad shoot em up, but even though it's nice, it seems kind of simple to me.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45pm

This game really got me in a Christmas mood with that green and red text. Jokes aside, solid game.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20pm

pew pew pew, small funny game.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:28pm

good shoother... but wasnt the theme growing or two buttons?

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39pm

No Linux version :-(.
This is made in Unity, right? So can you provide one? Or alternatively a WebGL version?

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47pm

The graphics were really great.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Simplistic but nothing bad in it so well done ^^

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I really liked how the music was sped up by your progress, great idea!

In the beggining it's really entertaining game, but then it gets the same, there are no funny texts and music gets really annoying.

Thanks!

maksibonus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:03pm

BubuIIC, I added WebGL version

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:32pm

very fun shooter. very nicely done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]