Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Journey East

by gallerdude - Compo Entry

Find the mystical treasure in the East!

Traverse the dangerous 4 areas to find it.

What shall await you in... The Journey East

--------------------------
Worked on something else on Friday and Saturday, hated & scrapped that.
Made this in 5 hours instead. It was very fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#519Fun3.11
#715Theme3.40
#745Mood2.54
#767Overall2.89
#839Graphics2.25

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

Interesting game, really frustrating with the jumps. Nice work.

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Heh, nice game. Graphics could probably use a bit of work, maybe try and practise, even when ludum dare isn't on. If you wanted to practise really hard, a twitter account called @pixelDailys gives themes daily. I got better at art that way. Game is really simple, but also really tough. I had trouble getting past the stage with the two ghosts.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

It was fun. I could not get past like the third level but If I was a kid I would probably play this more.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Well balanced game with the enemies and all - I only wish the jumping felt a bit better! Well done!

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Beat it, nice job! The odd jump arc isn't satisfying, but in some ways it worked well for this because of how predictable it is. Some hitboxes could be smaller, like the snakes. Level difficulty also feels wrong. Some of the early levels are quite a bit harder than later ones.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Some of the enemy design was pretty creative. I like how you introduced some of the enemies in a way that made them easy to deal with once, then they got harder to deal with.

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40pm

That was a tough quest for the prize! But somehow, the wiggly dance at the end was worth it :P

Well done for making this in such a short amount of time, here's hoping next time around you an get a few more hours in :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07am

I got stuck at the two ghost with 3 spikes. I tried many times but I still couldn't get through there. The jump is a bit rough, I think it is height of the jump. I love the animation you made with the character there, it looks very cute. It will be a fun game with a bit of more work :)

xSniper14x says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Inked and incredible, The Journey East is a porn goddess. You could bounce a quarter off his ass, but you don't want to ignore his busty front, either. He's ravenously hungry for some man sausage, but he also likes to play with the ladies. Even his solo material is sizzling and it's all available in HD. The site is small, though, and the update schedule is unclear.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Sadly, I can't play windows games.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Simple, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

As the ghost type starts coming it is becoming thrilling..
if you had added some proper physics based jump it would have become a good game.. Also on graphics can be improved

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:30am

This got more and more fun as it progressed! Somewhere around the halfway point I started trying to beat each room as quickly as possible, and I did pretty well except for the red snake rooms. The art isn't stellar but that's okay. Also, my mind was blown when the screen scrolled in that ONE ROOM in the game! :> Good job on this, especially for five hours.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Love how bright the game is, nice job! Also fun and is overall a well done entry.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

very hard game but also challenging! well done!

astrophics says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Overall nice game, but the platforming physics were a bit finiky at times

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:27pm

SUPER HARD! D:

I think the fact that the controls are so simple managed to make it less frustrating. I made it to the level with the two cannons, and usually I would have given up way before then. You've got an impressive number of levels and obstacles for a 5-hour game!

shrapx says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:43pm

you made very good use of the traps and enemies in the level design. every level was a challenge and i am glad to say i made it to the end.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:18pm

A major problem is the fall speed. Falling at the cloud part is the absolute worst, but other than that I like not being able to backtrack, much like the original mario in that sense.

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Cool! Simple but plays nicely and you made A LOT OF LEVELS. That's hard work. I managed to get to the end but instinctively jumped over the treasure :D Good work!

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:20pm

It was a challenging experience, altough perhaps a bit frustrating on the sky levels, since the deaths are not instantaneous if you fall off; this often leads to a few seconds in wich the player is waiting to die, wich is no fun at all.
Besides that, the jump was a bit too tight (It was hard to control, especially on the last levels) and the camera wasn't centered properly (referring to the level with the ghost tower, for instance) -for that last one it would have been better to set the drag point of the camera a bit left of the center-.
Other than that, I had fun with it. Cheers!

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:00pm

That's a lot of levels for one LD. And the level design is not bad, too. A bit too hard, though.

There are, however, some things that make it more pleasant to play. Like enemies right at the start, or long falling time. Or the difficulty.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:19am

fun game, simple graphism are basics it's just what seem to me a little worse. But you have worked hard ;) great job

scorched says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Enjoyed the game overall, what bothers me though:
- frustrating player respawn out of safe zone;
- enemy respawn;
- spikes colliders are too big at sides (too squary?);
- snowball is not visible behind the clouds;
- ending :-P

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Can't play windows games. :-( Graphics look cool!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Cool Game reminds me of Indiana Jones!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:46am

Your hitboxes should probably be a little smaller (unless this is supposed to be rage-inducing difficulty). :/

Jan 12, 2016 @ 4:25am

Pro tip: For jumping, give the player an initial Y velocity, then subtract from that velocity every frame (usually with a minimum velocity in the negatives). For instance, the player pressed space, and the player is given a Y velocity of 10. 1 is subtracted from the Y velocity every frame with a minimum of -10 (falling 10 pixels per second). That will create a smooth jump arch.

g12345 says ...
Jan 13, 2016 @ 9:37am

Good fun game, and there's no need to change the jumping mechanics. Managed to get to the end, and I'd say changing the jumping mechanics now means you'd have to redo some of the levels. If you want to imporve on things then try the graphics or the sound department.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]