Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

hARBOuR

by Aurel Bílý - Compo Entry

A simple platformer where your mission is to collect nutrients to save the last tree in the world.
Choose a droid to send outside the pod to get started, but be careful - your battery power is very limited.

Not very happy with the final product, time got to me too soon. But much better than submitting nothing. :)

= Controls =
Arrow keys - movement, up to jump and DOUBLE JUMP
A - shoot, menu action

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#133Graphics3.89
#228Mood3.36
#456Overall3.26
#509Audio2.58
#643Humor1.97
#703Fun2.83
#840Innovation2.44
#890Theme2.91

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

the game was interesting, though i had trouble with the jumping, but other then that it was ok.

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

you have a really nice little style with this, gameplay is just too plain though

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

like jcmonkey I also struggeled with the jumping and double jumping. It took me two runs to fully understand my purpose of the game. I think your game needs some more description like collect all the blobs, and you have a double jump...
That kind of thing.
I really liked your art style, and the character animations.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Enjoyed the art style, and also the idea of having "clones" or whatever rather than lives.

Husky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

I like the platform with a different style, I also had some problems with jumping :(

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I liked the 3-character setup for the lives, art was lovely too! I couldn't get on with the controls though, they made it harder than it should have been. Nonetheless, great entry!

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:35pm

i like the graphics.

punkto says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Liked the scenery with old-style graphics. It reminds me one platform of a physicist with a ferrari... :). The movements are a bit rough.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:53am

I absolutely loved the graphical style. The goal of the game was unclear and the physics could be better, but still a very nice game overall.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Very good graphics, I think. Maybe more work in the gameplay and global concept. Well done anyway.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really nice entry! Graphics are superb. A couple complaints, with suggestions:

1. It was hard to see where I could and couldn't go sometimes. Using more contrast between platform/non-platform would have helped

2. Looks like a few of us (myself included) had trouble with jumping. There's a couple different things you could do to make it better. One thing you could try is to not make the jump variable - make it so that the user always jumps the same height regardless of how long they press the jump button. They can get the highest jump by correctly timing the double jump at the top of the first jump. Another option (if you want to keep the variable jump height) is to make it so that tapping the jump button guarantees a minimum jump height. For example, let's you can hold the jump button for up to one second to get the tallest height. If someone taps the jump button for a tenth of a second, pretend they're pressing it for half a second. If you're going to keep the variable height jump, you might also want to reduce gravity to give the player longer to react. Or, you could make them float for a tenth of a second or so when they let go of the jump button to give them time to double jump without falling too far. Good luck!

Silvio says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:18pm

very nice graphics.
my little tip for you: make sure the same sound effect isn't played more than once at the same moment.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Cool game, particularly liked the graphics, jumping seemed quite difficult in places though!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:32pm

interesting concept, I understand this time problem. But in overall it was a cool concept!
Jumping was kinda difficult and I thought that getting the orange and green orbs would add energy and shield to me.
Great idea for the lives being three characters!

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:46pm

You're very harsh on yourself! I liked the game quite a lot. The graphics are great, I liked the backstory and I had fun playing.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Style is great, but you really should make jumps and falls accelerated, instead of keeping Y velocity constant.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Contro lof the character is not perfect but I like the 2x different worlds they have a very nice athmosphere. A was also a bit unsure about human characteristics but whatever it was a nice experience.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Needs a description, but the sound and art were gorgeous. Gameplay was fun.

nosfer says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:39pm

very nice graphics but hard controls. I like the metroid vibe :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:29am

Simple, effective, works fine except jumps wich are a little awkward. Good job. :)

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:18am

I like the concept and story a lot. Had some trouble with the jumping and the crystal grotto stage was a bit confusing. Enjoyed playing overall though!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:04am

I really love the water reflection - great work with the graphics! Would love to see a final polished version, because I think it has awesome potential to be a really fun platformer.

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:24pm

First of all this caught me right away with the visual style, so great job with that -- I really appreciated the mix of high(er) res pixel art / small sprites and the sketchy style of the levels themselves. Along those lines the water effect and the death effect were really superb!

I have some feedback regarding the jumping/platforming -- first, it took me way too long to figure out I could jump twice, I thought I was getting the timing wrong. This could be fixed pretty simply by putting a double-jump-high platform in the main area and a decal in the background with two up arrows (or something like that, if you wanted to avoid being too explicit.) Second, and this is perhaps more of a subjective suggestion, so take it with a grain of salt: the way the jumping/gravity seems to work now is a constant velocity up, then switch direction at the peak and fall with a constant velocity. I found this a little jarring, you might want to experiment with constant negative acceleration for gravity, and the jump being an instantaneous upward acceleration. Again, this is just my own taste -- to play devil's advocate I like it when things disregard the norm, also!

Overall this felt really polished for something so ambitious. I would love to see where this goes if you keep working on it!

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:48pm

P.S.: Going back again I'm coming around to the physics a lot more -- also wanted to give kudos for the collision detection, which is really impressive given so little time!

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Cool! Very cool game. Sometime difficult, specially with double jump.

YinYin says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:42pm

I saved the galaxy!? Somehow? One human left, loved the fact that there was a reason for having several beyond different stats (initially thought this would just be a difficulty setting and finishing the game with the weakest would be a challenge).


I really liked the graphics. The audio however was agonizing and the controls, especially jumping, were pretty rough. The exit triggers didn't seem to work initially and it took me some time to figure out I could double jump (a notion on that would've been great) - only to finally get the lower exit working, which didn't require double jumping at all.

Also had a lot of trouble recognizing when I was loosing energy. I lost those two humans rather suddenly - first due to water, second due to ... I don't know? Was missing more feedback beyond the bar going down.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:28pm

The distortion effect when you die is very cool-- I'm a sucker for glitch effects. Actually, the graphics here are all very very cool.

I had no idea that I could double jump for the first three minutes of play and did not understand that I was supposed to head right to fight mushroom monsters.

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:27am

The concept is pretty interesting, but I had some troubles with the gameplay. :P

The graphics are beautiful, and the art style is pretty sweet! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]