Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Scape

by mockthebear - Jam Entry

The embed version should be on fullscrene to work, or it not get the input. idk why
Controls:
Left and Right arrows: rotate the snake's head clockwise or anti-clockwise

Hey guys, this is our entry for LD34, Snakescape. You are a snake, trapped a long ago in a temple (because you never stop growing, so yeah, trap the damn thing on a temple so it doesn't mess up the world). Your goal is to escape the temple by clearing out puzzles and avoiding hitting yourself, or walls, or both.

The themes we selected were Growing, and Two Buttons.

We used Beargine by Mock, developed on top of SDL2 and C++11.
The Web Version was built using Emscripten. Still a bit raw, some graphic bugs
may happen. Also the same for an android port.

Bugs: Head may split from body on WEB version.


Programming:

Foxtacy
Mock

Artists:
Raf
Guax

Music and Sound:
Arlam Jr. (https://www.facebook.com/arlamjr)

Game soundtrack:
https://soundcloud.com/arlamjr/sets/snakescape-soundtrack

Original team: https://www.facebook.com/hungrybeargames/


*easter egg when finishing the game*

PS: pre-submission hour change. Changed the level 2, enabled infinite mode and released a android download link. (the link was already on the site, but we forgot to put it here)

16/12/2015 16:03 -> Uploaded a fixed web version. On web version due the PORT, the game crash when you finish all levels. We just fixed that

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#390Mood(Jam)3.36
#426Humor(Jam)2.79
#713Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

nice game, I really liked everything.
I just think that the puzzles get harder too quickly.
You should have more easy lvls to give me some time to get used to the controls.

Knowledge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Please make unlimited lives mode, it would be nice to see levels above 3.

I also saw bug when head is on wrong place.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

@Knowledge yup. it happens only in browser version. ;s

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

That’s one long snake, I really like this game. There are loads of time detail things you have put in and a huge amount of polish

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

great game, i rly like the background.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice game! I just had some difficulty with the controls, or.. I'm just bad at driving infinite snakes! I really liked the music and the graphics, well made!

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

Nice! liked, tough match and merges the two themes! Very interesting indeed, well finished. I have found the challenging game! Congratulations.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

I liked the puzzles in this game! It was a lot of fun although the snake moves a little bit awkwardly. Maybe you could make the turns more responsive? Great game though =D

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Everything about this game is adorable and I love it. My only complaint was the snake speed, but I may not have gotten far enough for that to change yet!

cirpig29 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

A fun game! I like the menu that integrates gameplac. Nice touch.

I think I noticed a bug. After selecting hard mode, then dying three times, then restarting with infinite lives, every death sends you back to the beginning.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Really cool game !, Always love sane game :D
Not too hard not too easy, just perfect

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

This game is so great!
Great visuals, audio und gameplay! I really enjoyed playing it.
The temple on the ending is quite hard to see. A bit more contrast would be nice there. The snake looks really cute on the "plop"-frame :)
Unfortunetely I died on the menu after completing the game... is the easteregg the (WARNING! THIS MAY BE A SPOILER!) "san** mo**"? After dying it didn't display in any more. Did I miss anything? :(

One thing that I noticed was, that it would be nice, if the time-switches would look differently from the normal ones (especialy the 3rd one on the last level ;)

This is definetly one of my favorites this time!

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Nice game man, WAIT I DIED IN THE MENUS ?!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Wow.. amazing game. Luckily, it runs in WINE decently since the web version is terrible. (Lags so badly...) Sooo many things about this game. First, a few bugs (that may or may not have been because of WINE... I looked at the source but no make file meant I couldn't even attempt to build it myself. :P ).

Firstly, When dying on Hard Mode and starting right back up the game says I have 0 lives and all my score from my previous attempt. If I die once, though, all my score (including whatever I gained on that second playthrough) is lost and my lives are set back to 3.

Second, and it might have just been me, but the snake seems unresponsive at times.. Especially when trying to do tight maneuvers back to back (like in that one hallway that killed me three times and I needed to take a break; I'll beat this eventually :P ). It might have been intended to be like this, but it's a little disappointing when he doesn't turn like you tell him to.

Now, the great stuff. The gameplay is addictive and awesome. I was worried it would have been a little boring because it's just "Snake", but the infinite twist makes it very, VERY fun. And then there's the music.. I love how it changes slowly as you progress.

All-in-all and AWESOME game. I'll just need more time before I can beat it on Hard mode. (Easy is too boring. :P )

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Really nice game. At first, I thought it was a simple Snake, but the way you took this base and change it is really good. Also the art looks good.
The only problem I had was the controls, because I was lost between the turning inputs.
Anyway great job!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00pm

@Scipio Xaos

I dont know if you're goingg to see this... but well...
The game actually was compiled using code::blocks

the web version and android version was build usng an script inside the source ^^
yup, web version sucks =\

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Arghh! That one level where you are forced to turn rapidly to fill each and every square is torture! I'd like to come back to it at some point but I really don't want to replay all of the former levels...

I like the countdown blocks, but I hate that I can't see which level I am on for a sanity check. A password system for easy mode would be nice and who ever can complete this on hard mode deserves a trophy for "most patient person ever".

shadow64 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57am

Nice work! Thanks again for rating and commenting on Get It Out!!! The music here was solid enough. I liked the art and the gameplay was neat. The one level that has already been mentioned is pretty tough. My suggestion would be to make those tiles the numbers instead of looking like everything else. It does come as a surprise and I imagine if you played on hard you'd definitely die on that level just because you're not prepared.

I think I made it through most of the game but it froze (playing web version) towards the end.

Again, great job and congrats on finishing! :D

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:14pm

i dont know how to say. but i was "OMG KMJAHUA OMG DONT OMG... HUUUU ok theres a invisible wall" when the camera rotates XD

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:14pm

^ops wrong window

SamH says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

Emscripten == Linux-friendly, so thanks :-) An overall neatly polished entry, nice graphics, enjoyable music, with enough levels to make it challenging. My major criticism would be this: since it’s mostly a puzzle game, it’s a bit frustrating that the player has to play everything from the beginning if they happen to die. I beat the level once, I’ll beat it every time, don’t you think? Also ★★★★★ for using both themes.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:58am

Great art and gameplay! The mixture of puzzle solving and snake mechanics was a great combo as it gives you time to digest the upcoming parts of the level while waiting to get to your next immediate destination.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:46am

Cool game :D
Reminds me of the Silly Sausage by nitrome.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:34am

Wow! One of the most polished games in this LD. Very clever take on the Snake genre. The gameplay is very good and the menu be a playable level it was an smart idea. The music is nice, the one from the menu remembers me the music from Jaws.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45am

really nice take on the classic snake game - well done

mockthebear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Foxtacy: Whoa, thanks everyone :) (yep, i'm using mock's account to rate games because i can't do it from mine :(

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22pm

@mockthebear
Ah.. code::blocks ... I recently started working with someone on a C++ project who uses that IDE... took me forever to get a build going because I had to manually set up the build environment on my end. I definitely prefer makefiles. :P

Still.. an awesome game... and I will beat it!! :P

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:42am

Very solid and polished game! I only got a bit frustrated when I was close to winning and a small mistake made me restart everything, haha. But overall, pretty nice.

orion_black says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Easy mode didn't worked(I got it from itchio), had to play in hard, which indeed it was :). I agree that there should be some kind of visual telegraphing so that it becomes clearer at what frames movement happens in relation to the grid. At the same time, not knowing certainly adds an enjoyable element of tension, particularly when you are about to finish a level.

While the puzzle aspect is mostly a means to better fleshing out the action side of things(the best part imo). You probably want to add more options so that they aren't readily apparent.

Your music is superb, the increase in bpms works wonders.

@Foxtacy: Depending on what make you disliked about haxeflixel it probably hasn't gotten better. AFAIK the structure of the api hasn't changed a lot(also, I'm not sure since when we are talking about XD), but I'm aware they've changed a lot of the underlying(openFL/lime) stuff. This http://www.fortressofdoors.com/openfl-for-home-game-consoles/ talks briefly about the current(kinda, it's like 6 months old) state of things.

Also, you should try codelite, a light and quite functional IDE.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:19pm

awesome, I hope you continue working on this!

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice music, and the controls work fine!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Cool game. I first thought the snake was going a tad slow, but then the difficulty ramped up and I was glad it wasn't going any faster. The music and visuals added to the mood. Nicely done on the double-theme too!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:30am

Really nice game. Liked the graphics & music. Nailed both themes too. Well done.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Nice game! Well presented. I think the player should not die when making a misstep. For a puzzle game it seems more appropriate to move turn-based (as in left=go left, right=go right, etc) and even to have an undo option.

emmes says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Nice game. Wanted to see the easter egg, but I don't know how many more levels there were...

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Ladies and gentleman, this entry is clearly the way to win Ludum Dare, these guys could write a guide on winning Ludum Dare as this game is perfection created within an impossibly short time.

Snake is specifically the best fitting for both themes running. I've seen one snake, it was lacking, but it was kind of fun.

Now this one, is clearly superior to countless entries I've seen. Not only it looks faboulous, it plays like a charm, it has a wonderful audio and its cartoony style and consistent art style creates a funny "play me moar" mood.

Too bad I wasn't able to finish it during the ratings, but this game looks like an almost finished product for me, something that clearly hits the requirements to be released.

Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Correction: I managed to finish the game, but Sanic totally screwed me. Very well played. X)

- Kardfogú

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I'd say that it's a nice little game if not for the fact it's not quite little; one could say it has grown quite long. Lame puns aside, the game has quite a few levels; I wouldn't mind if there was one mode with level selection and no hiscores, and another mode with a single run, three lives and hiscore tracking. Aside from that, I liked the concept and audiovisuals. Concept itself reminded me of my previous LD entry ( http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=39564 ). ^^"

One somewhat critical bug is that the game doesn't reset state after loss. I.e. I tried playing on hard, then I lost all 3 lives, but I kept the score and when I died on easy, I got back to menu. You might want to look into that.

Also, I'd like to see some music room there, where I could listen to the different variations of the soundtrack. I tried playing around with OGGs but it seems they're mixed inside the game itself. ^^"

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

Oh this is clever, i like it. The never-ending body makes a nice puzzle mechanic, and the two-button rotation movement also adds some complexity; there seems to be some input lag though, not sure if it's intentional but it feels a little off. Love the aesthetic, too, and you managed an impressive number of levels for a jam entry. I could see this being popular on mobile devices. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]