Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gardening Rabbit

by lurils - Jam Entry

A and D are the only controls
Should be pretty straight forward

Wanted to try to make something based/inspired on Game & Watch games (and other similar ones) just for fun. Thanks to some unexpected issues only one of the "game types" work, but either buttons should take you to it.
Hope you like this simple game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#250Theme(Jam)3.98
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#466Audio(Jam)3.11
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#735Fun(Jam)2.89

Comments

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

You nailed the looks and feel of a Game and watch type game. I would love to have this on mobile. Great job.

caiges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Loved this. Great idea and throwback to those old handhelds.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Fantastic atmosphere you've captured in this entry, down to graphics, mechanics, and even sound. The audio may be the weakest point though, some sound effects sound really fatiguing. I get the aesthetic you were going for but maybe get an equalizer on some of those sounds, specially the one that plays when you complete watering the plant.

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

This game has the perfect amount of retro-feel to it. It's simplistic, easy to pick up and grasp, and absolutely wonderful. My only complaint is that occasionally I would move into a spot where an object had just disappeared and still lose a life, which felt a little bit frustrating at times. Nice game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

The look and sounds are spot on for a game and watch clone. The game is a bit hard to figure out though. I'm not sure where the eggs are hitting my bunny.

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30am

ahahahaha, popstation game!, great job on capturing the graphics, sound and mood of those game dude :D
really bring me back to good old 90s :D

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

The graphics are really cute. It does make me think of the old LCD games that I got a long time ago.

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

I'm sorry, seems that, for some reason (haven't figured out yet), an egg will still count as a hit up to a second after it's been gone, trying to figure out why...

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Good job, a very solid entry

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43am

Perfectly imitated the gamenwatch feel.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Great atmosphere in this game. The graphics and audio go incredibly well with the game.

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I'm still not sure "what" is going on in the game. I get the rabbit and the water droplets cause the plants to grow in segments... but some how the birds make you lose... The conveyance wasn't there.

visually, it is indeed a game and watch, good work.

2 button controls, yes, though it would have been nice to see something more done with them other than a basic left and right movement.

Pretty great for 3 days.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This really made me nostalgia. The way you recreated these old tiger electronics/game and watch games is amazing! The gameplay in itself is also lots of fun, even if it is a little hard to avoid the crap.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

That retro feeling is just perfect.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really feels as a Game & Watch. Everything in the game is nice, except that it's a bit repetitive after a while. Great game. Also, why have took down the innovation category? :)

4/5

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I don't think I added much to it while trying to mimic an old style, so there is no innovation here, in my opinion -w-

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Wow really like this game

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03am

Game and Watch! I used to play these as a kid. Good job emulating one!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

Liked the Game and Watch look and feel

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

love this little game, nice artwork good job

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:02pm

pure nostalgia to the old super-market handhelds, good job =D

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice looking game fun to play

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20pm

That is awesome, really feels like I'm playing on an old casio watch or something.

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Yeah, you nailed that style you were going for. Good work : )

Is the rhythm of the game supposed to change or is that some kind of lag? That was kind of distracting to me.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

the only change that is supposed to happen is a small stop when you are hit, but then it goes back to the usual rhythm... otherwise it may be lag...

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07am

Yeah, everyone saying you nailed the look and feel of old Game and Watch are 100% correct. Super cool.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:35am

Cute graphics. It remembers some old school pocket games. Pretty nostalgic to play this one.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice classic look, good job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Really cool! it defninitely reminds me of a Game and watch.

aeveis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:10am

Very nice, I like how you keep the faded back sprites. Well executed!

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

It really looks, sounds and feels like those old game handhelds. The graphics are cute. I like it very much!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Really reminds me of those old mini games I used to have, it does get boring after a while, but very original concept.

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Game&watch, cool idea. Fits the theme very well, nice retroexperience

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Ah, i do love this aesthetic. The bunny in particular looks adorable. The game is cute, though it does get repetitive; gradually speeding up the pace might have made it more interesting. Still, solid entry, nice work!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice entry! It reminds me fo my childhood! Right in the feels, good job! ;)

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:27pm

It feels like a Game & Watch game through and through. In both the positive and the negative connotations.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:58am

Right in the childhood :o. You've done very nice work.

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Gosh, my childhood! Very nicely executed, definitely in the theme. Lacked some incentive except highscoring, like I suppose most of those actual Game&Watch did :)

adsilcott says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Beautiful game that makes me feel nostalgic. Great use of the theme too. A little easy, but otherwise excellent.

makapuf says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Super nice. Fun and beautiful artwork.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:15am

This is great!
Really got the feeling of game and watch!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]