Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BaseExt

by Tyler - Compo Entry

HTML5 version is live!!! Took some changing in how the shadows were created since it was causing crashing. Note that there still is some slow-down and the game is unoptimized, so downloading is recommended!

BaseExt//
Our world was over taken by the ones from beneath//
Run program "BaseExt" to send our unmanned base below to them//
Use lights, turrets, ammo generators and energy generators to survive//

I scrapped my first idea and made this in less than 5(!) hours. I'm happy with my entry and surprised with how much I was able to accomplish in such a short amount of time.

You control everything with only the mouse.

Enjoy!

EDIT: compressed the gmz file and it worked! Source code should be working now.

EDIT 2: HTML5 version should be coming soon!!! I'll also fix a few bugs in the windows version that were fixed with the HTML5 code. Check back soon!

EDIT 3: HTML5 version is live! Play right from the download page at itch.io :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#191Fun3.58
#194Graphics3.71
#244Overall3.55
#352Innovation3.37
#444Mood3.00
#535Audio2.53
#562Theme3.63
#655Humor1.91

Comments

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

Pretty fun. It did seem a little bit slow to me though, and took me a while to figure out. After I did, it was a pretty cool idea.

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice to play, nice to look at. Kudos.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Cool. My only gripe is that starting out feels a bit too slow, I think the game would benefit from having the HQ unit also generate some money to help you kickstart your base.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Thanks for the feedback! I sadly didn't have time to work on balance before the submission time ended, but I did spend a few hours afterwards working on tweaking the gameplay and adding new features in. I wish I could go in and balance it out, but I feel that that would go against the rules.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Nice looking game, but there is a glitch were you can buy things even thought you can't afford them :I

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I really like the styling of this game and the base building aspect. The UI was a little rough as some of the tooltips didn't show all the time. Sweet game!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Graphics were good, but the game is slow. Some additional ways of getting money would be nice. (I expected killing enemies to give money, but it didn't.)

Also, I didn't like waiting for all the text to pop up in the intro screen, and clicking skipped directly to the game. I would've liked clicking to show the next line of text, and then move to the game once all the text is shown.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Interesting system. Simple control. I enjoy it a lot. Really want to see more contents in this game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Wow this is really good for that short time!

I screwed myself my first few games figuring it out, for example by not building the money-generator. But I enjoyed the feeling of having to figure it out, and once I got on a roll I was having a good time.

The compo version, I had some problem with the bullets, they seemed to just kind of disappear sometimes when I thought they should kill the enemy.

I liked it enough that I ran the post-comp build, which was a big improvement. I see now that the enemies sometimes take more than one hit, and that was probably why the bullets "disappeared" in the first game.

Very nice art style and I appreciated experimenting.

My final game I thought okay now I'm gonna win this, I have a nice base established. But there is a nice design tradeoff, if you expand you need more guns but then each click costs you more. So my fatal mistake was thinking I had a good amount of ammo stockpiled and building too many guns without the supporting ammo factories.

Also the art was nicely done.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

The concept is fine, but it's a bit unpolished. For example, the enemies take variable amounts of hits to kill but there's no way to tell how much. There are also some serious bugs like tooltips not showing or being able to get into negative values for money.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Thanks for all the feedback! :) It's great to hear where I went wrong and what I can improve for post-post compo release!

The negative money was originally a bug, but I think I'll keep it since it's a trade-off between going into the red or being able to build more units. It adds a bit of risk reward whether you should buy that expensive money generator or buy some cheaper things first.

I'll try fixing the bug with the tool tips, or just remove them completely. I couldn't find the source of the bug before release, so I just left it in since it was a bit of help at the beginning of the game.

Again, thanks for the feedback! It's much appreciated!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Wow this is cool. Its difficult but it has a great feeling. Nice job. +1 for idea

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Added HTML5 build. Lags a bit, but it should run on any system now!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Neat game, but there's a lot of waiting. More enemy types and more purchases would be cool. The game also benefit a lot from wave based gameplay, which would give you base building time in between waves and possibly increase the difficulty a bit faster. What I played was enjoyable though, would love to see more in the future.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Wow, for five hours this is very nice!

Kind of frustrating that:
- I can't use hotkeys to quickly select what to build (although that goes against the theme so ignore that),
- I HAVE to build a lot of turrets even though I can't produce enough ammo to fill it all, making it hard to shoot around. I guess you could consider that a kind of balancing, but it feels like a lack of control on my part
- when I aim at something it's often not the nearest turret that shoots first, which given the slow bullets is very irritating

Other than that, very engaging game :)

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:19am

Pretty awesome idea!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice concept! And very well made!
The game is a little too slow imo, but good job though ^^

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:40pm

A nice little game. I like the simplistic graphic style (creating bullet-hell for the aliens is visually satisfying) and colour scheme, and I like how you did the background.

My main problem is that once you're past the hurdle of the beginning, surviving becomes very easy: you can easily pump out money and ammo at a greater rate than you're consuming them. It did feel like the difficulty started perking up again once my base got very large, so perhaps the game gets very challenging once you approach the edges of the map.

But I nitpick; this is very impressive for a game made in 5 hours.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:47am

Very Innovative concept for Tower Defense! With a bit more polish I would spend hours playing this!

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Very nice and hard game ... :D Its fun !xD

g12345 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Fun game. Took me a while to get a good portion of the board but then I stopped since it have no idea if there's an ending to this game, or how to stop the growth of the monsters.

Also this game would be much better by not having a choice of six items, but just having the choice of all of them in the first place. now im just building tens of turrets until it changed to something different.

And it's a bit strange to have that 4th item only showing up after filling up half of the starting area, that really should have shown up way earlier.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Pretty cool concept, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]