Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wargrow

by Mixer - Compo Entry

IF PLAYING WITHIN THIS PAGE - FULLSCREEN IT.

Ancient romans have found a time machine and have travelled to the future, where a crazy nature warrior controls the ancient art of beanstalks, drives cars into people, plants mushrooms that slow soldiers, and puts thorns in the middle of their path.

Ancient romans have archers though! And, and soldiers! Surely they will win! Find out now.


Timelapse coming soon. Missed out on first 10 hours, but I worked harder to catch up.

git: https://github.com/Mixerman123/LD34

Made with Haxeflixel and Haxe.
-@5Mixer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#340Humor2.67
#476Audio2.64
#679Graphics2.72
#756Mood2.52
#795Innovation2.56
#799Fun2.63
#858Overall2.72
#919Theme2.70
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

Fun simple game. Also, I laugh my head off at the flying beanstalk of doom everytime, so thanks for that.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

This is a fun game with a lot of interesting little details. I really like the killing thorns animated growth it looks rad when you look at it up close. Really fun!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

The shift attack is a little weird, but then again just spamming it is fine and makes the game pretty easy. I don't really get how growing fits into this (unless its just the plants) and its technically 3 button controls.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Seems to be a problem with resolution :O

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

simple game. Beanstalk of doom is great. :D

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

Neat little game. Just standing there and spamming shift while occasionally dodging arrows seems to be a bit OP though :X

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

10 seconds. Beanstalk op.

Graphical look is very nice though.
Hope you intend to flesh out the gameplay in the coming week.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Lovely little game. I love the idea of growing the defense.
Just noticed that you can hit with the shift key after reading the comments. A short tutorial would've beed awesome.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

That flying beanstalk of doom... so powerful. Kinda wish it wasn't because the game sort of just ends up being about getting $60 and then winning. It would have been cool if the enemies got stronger or faster towards the end.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice game. I really like the sound and graphics :)

francoisvn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Flying beanstalk!!!!!!! :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34am

Haha! What a ridiculous (in the best way possible) game!

My experience: *clicks wipeout car*. I wonder what that does? *waits a second*. Weird, guess it does nothing. *Car comes careening in from the left*. What the hell. This is awesome!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Really clever animations! Got a great feel to it. Separates itself from a plants vs. zombies copy with the nice art.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15am

Hah, wipe out car! Why shift? And it would be nice if the purchase buttons looked more like buttons. Otherwise, good job. Keep making games!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I found the collisions were off and I was getting hit when I wasn't really touching anything :(

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:53am

Had alot of fun with the power ups. Between the bean stalk of Doom and the wipe out car, I had a good laugh! the buttons took me a sec to realize they were clickable, but not a big thing. If you look at my game's source, I made a simple button class for flixel that you are more than welcome to rip off. Keep it up!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:19am

I was being ambushed and the car ALMOST paid for itself! Great job, it's a fun game, although it felt a little slow sometimes. Still, I had fun! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]