Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Molly's Dreaming

by flyingbear - Compo Entry

This is the most adorable game I've ever made.

Dedicated to the memory of my friend's dachshund Molly. What an awesome dog she was!

Made in Game Maker Studio along with Photoshop, Skale Tracker, sfxr, and Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.68
Overall4.41
#9Fun4.23
#12Mood4.25
#17Humor4.00
#20Graphics4.45
#29Audio4.00
#109Innovation3.82
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

Ah, so cute! The effect of the dog 'lengthening' is great, and the music is so silly and perfect for the game. Super fun as well! Awesome work :)!

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Best sausage dog dream simulator ever made. Molly!

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37am

Super cute dog! Lasers were super hard to save up for but I finally did it after over an hour of playing.

richwerner says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

This game is so awesome I could poop my pants.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Very cute.

The upgrade screen could use a little work, I was right next to a pickup when it swapped and picked it up before I was aware of what I was doing. Particularly as I was just recoiling from the ground-hogs blasting off.

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

It's soooo cute!! :)

5you says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Nice take on the snake concept! Cute and addictive.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32am

I love how the dog gets longer and longer, it's a great take on the Snake mechanics and what a way to fit the "growing" theme!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

I launched the gophers into space! : D I liked that items in bubbles would let you collect fast things by hitting them with your noodley body, but I wish hitting an item with your head was an instance collect. But I LAUNCHED GOPHERS INTO SPACE! : D

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55am

I had a fun time playing this. Hehehehe. Awesome game!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

daaaw c:
i had no patience to shoot lasers, but loved indeed!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51am

Cute game not normally my style GG

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57am

This is very cute, graphics and music are lovely and the game itself feels fun and polished. Well done!

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01am

Very cute, I enjoyed this game a lot. I may even take another crack at it later, it's kinda hard but I want to see the lasers!

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13am

Haha, this is awesome!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:54am

really nice game - great idea to take the snake theme and apply to a dog - nice job

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

This is fantastic! Adorable graphics, great animation, cute music. Great work.

maksibonus says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 11:23am

Cute game)

nucleartide says ...
Jan 9, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Did some grinding on level 1 to get the laser. This game is awesome. :)

luquio says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I want this game on appstore pleaseeee

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]