Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Core Invaders

by CogComp - Compo Entry

Core Invaders

Story
Inspired but not deterred by their fellow space invaders,
the core invaders have decided it's time to attack earth.
Armed with a weapon that disables all navigation abilities
the earth defenses don't stand a chance.
You alone have survived the onslaught using only timed boosts
of your ships thrusters and your trusty pulse laser.

Instructions
Boost your ships engines by pressing 'W' and shoot with SPACE.
Avoid or destroy ships to reach the aliens core to complete
the level.

---------------------------------------------
The game is written in C++ using Visual Studio 2015 Community edition and my open sourced mini-game-engine that I created during Ludum Dare 33.
https://github.com/AlexMartinelle/PicoEngine

The "art" was made using Gimp, Milkshape 3D, Blender and Wings3D
The music and sound effects were made using bfxr, Audacity and LMMS.
If you experience performance issues, it seems that these are caused by my dodgy sound effects routines :-) So you can toggle sound effects with 'S'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#175Audio3.39
#315Graphics3.41
#412Overall3.32
#438Theme3.79
#444Mood3.00
#458Fun3.18
#532Innovation3.09
#556Humor2.22

Comments

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Cool music, and i like the particle effects when destroying an enemy. The enemy has also some cool move patterns. The text is a little hard to read, but you can do it. Still, nice game.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54am

Wow, this is a great game. You can always tell a game was made by the author of the engine. You should make a smartphone game from this.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great game! I didn't think the two-button approach would work with this sort of shooter but it's pretty good! It was admittedly a little hard to see what your opponents are doing because of the sharp angle (you might have tried a bit more overhead) but the wave approach was pretty well done. Good music too, rad!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

This has a really nice Demoscene/early 3d look. The music helps too. I liked it, but most of the time could hold up to win. Also the performance was terrible.

Good to see another wings/milkshape user.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Cool game, the music was nice.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Great game, and made with your own engine in C++! That's a bonus in itself. Well done sir :)

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Nice game liked it a lot and the music was very nice. Would like to see even more levels :)

Good work!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:05am

Cool game

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08am

Nice! Good twist on a classic.

Performance was a little choppy, even with the sound effects off, and the music was pretty loud compared to the rest of the sound - but good fun was had, overall.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Good game!

I feel like the two buttons should be forward and backward thrust and shooting should be automatic. Then the player has to navigate through the complex web of enemies to get to the core. Just a thought.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great game !
You got a fun concept, with cools graphics and really old school music, good job :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice audio and visuals and a nice concept, great job

SamH says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nice graphics and catchy music. Not 100% sure about the mechanics, I actually found myself wishing there were more things to shoot before clearing a wave. Anshul’s suggestion to have forward/backward movement instead sounds interesting (though of course it would change the whole gameplay).

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:39am

extra points for the custom engine!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I liked the take on the theme. One of the few games that actually used the two-button controls in the setting itself. I found the game itself interesting, maybe a bit slow. I stopped playing after the full-game-restart when failing a level, would have been nice to be able to retry on the same level.

All in all, nice take on the theme and nice game. Well done :)

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:22am

Nice music
thanks for youtube platform

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:44am

I finished a lot of levels, the mechanics were really cool! The only thing I didn't like is the that the music stopped. Overall, really cool game!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:09am

Hey liked the retro inspiration here. Also the art is nice. Lastly, will test your c++ engine for my own games.well done!

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Really like the graphics on this one, very fun game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]