Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Thrive

by JuiceBox Entertainment - Jam Entry

Start off with nothing and grow a huge city whilst keeping your increasing population alive and healthy!

Made to fit the 'Grow' theme, not '2 Button Controls'.

There are still a lot of bugs and unclarity(?)... Descriptions for buildings coming soon. (We feel this is necessary to make the game playable for others.) For now, you can use our excel sheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1KgeSNY_52UMvc8IF20uzKgMfbcdwjQK97RbcCUbv8-4/edit?usp=sharing

Basic Tutorial:
Your population increases over time, based on the current population and available housing.
Your population has a food and water demand (every 30 seconds) based on the size of the population. Purchase food and water buildings to ensure your population can survive.
Buildings also require power and workers to operate. You can assign workers by clicking on a building and hitting the + and - buttons (not all buildings require workers).

Hope you enjoy playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

I can't hit the play button?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

I'm afraid I can't hit the play button either... I'm running the Windows version on a Windows 7 Lenovo laptop.

Side note: the screen is also too tall for my resolution (1366 x 768). I don't know why. :/

greenscreen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02pm

The same. I can't click play button. Maybe it's because my monitor is too small. My resolution is 1440x900.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cant open it

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24pm

No real feedback on what's going on so hard to know if it could be fun.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:28am

Sorry guys, we're working on the issues. We lowered the screen size and fixed the start button, so hopefully it should at least be startable now, however we're still trying to fix some in-game bugs that are also making the game difficult to play.

You should be able to get past the starting screen now, though!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Well, I can at least play the game now. I'm afraid it's still a little hard to figure out how to work it - for example, I built (from what I can best tell) a Lumberyard and a Power Plant, yet I still can't seem to produce any wood. :/

It seems that the button hitboxes are a little off - for example, to open the different building tabs at the bottom, I have to click near the bottom of the button. The button to close a building's settings also needs to be clicked near the bottom left. :/

Also, for some reason clicking a building selection that is empty will close the game.

However, I do really like the graphics and the sort of zen mood - I think if this game was a little more obvious in how it is played it would be really cool.

I'm not going to vote quite yet - I want to figure out how to play the game before I judge it. ;)

squirrelbot says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Seems like a fun game, but I can't seem to figure out which building is the lumberyard. I can't get far without plenty of wood.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]