Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

LOW MEM

by GagaPete - Compo Entry

Your job is to get the data frame to the exit of each level. The problem is that you have only enough memory to store two commands. That means you can either go up or down, left or right but not both. Luckily commands are placed in the levels and you can read them by moving the data frame over those fields.
If you read commands in the wrong order and get stuck, restart the level and try again (button or R).

This is actually my first entry that runs on mobile (tested on Android), whooo!

*Controls*
Click or tap the buttons to move (preferred)
X to move horizontally, C to move vertically

*Theme*
I did the Two Button Controls theme obviously. The only game mechanic I came up with that did include both themes was Snake. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#83Innovation3.91
#133Theme4.13
#257Fun3.47
#260Overall3.53
#315Graphics3.41
#629Humor2.00
#658Mood2.72

Comments

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Nice concept! I like the idea for this puzzle game, and it can probably be developed further. Some more visual feedback might help the game feel better to play. Also, maybe tapping the buttons to move faster might help impatient players like me!

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41am

Cool concept, loved the clean/simple graphics.
Probably my main concern is that the perspective sometimes made it a bit unclear as to what was going on with the blocks that get in your way (I dunno it just looked a little confusing/I had to look twice to check its state)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Really neat game, challenging, great use of theme, and well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Great puzzle mechanics, I would love more levels. I think giving a different color to horizontal and vertical arrows would make the gameplay more clear.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

This is a great use of the theme. The puzzles seem as tricky to design as to sort out. I wonder if you showed a facing direction of the little protagonist it would make the game too easy or more fun. I guess its sort of cheating. Good show!!

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I really liked it. First few levels were a push obviously but then you did bring in one or two that required thinking. Such a shame you didn't add more as there is a good puzzle concept here.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I really liked the concept and the puzzle aspect. I often had to restart because when I walked over a new command I was still pressing the button, activated the new command and couldn't get back anymore

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

I want more levels!!

Great concept. Such a creative use of the two-button theme. Has a great look and feel. Would have liked some sound. Nice level curve.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

I like it. It's simple yet fun and well executed.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Cool little game. A little sounds would make far better.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

That was great! Such an elegant mechanic explored nicely over the set of levels. I would love to see more!

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Great job! The levels were fun, I would definitely play more of them (I imagine it is difficult to design that type of puzzle.) I liked the visual style as well. If you developed it further, audio feedback would definitely add a lot.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice idea. Good job with the simple but pleasing graphics!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Clever take on the two button control theme

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Nice clean graphics in support of a very clever design, good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Really nice play on the two button concept with the changing of the availbale command.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Very good use of the theme! I liked the puzzles. The graphics are functional and work well for the game. Some thinking was required on the last three levels and the difficulty curve had just the right slope.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

Game is pretty good but puzzles are tooooo simple :ะก

thristhart says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Solid mechanic and I love the aesthetic! Puzzle weren't too hard or too easy. Great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]