Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2Fight

by Julgodis - Compo Entry

2Fight is a fighting game that only uses two input buttons. Use these buttons to create combos and fight the enemies.

The game was made by Julgodis.

---

Controls: (there is a tutorial in the game.)
A = Turn player
B = Move player forward

---

Tools:
Garage Band
Paint.net
Visual Studio 2015 (typescript)
WebGL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#92Innovation3.88
#148Humor3.24
#317Audio3.00
#320Overall3.44
#380Mood3.10
#387Fun3.28
#475Graphics3.09
#490Theme3.72

Comments

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

This game is so creative! I actually really like the combat system! It's really intuitive. Do you have a downloadable version? I'd love to learn some things from it. *claps* the only real suggestion is maybe change the controls. Maybe "A" and "L" or maybe "A" and Left_click to make it more ergonomic. Other than that the game takes a lot of skill to play and is actually viable. If you haven't already, check out a game called DiveKick! It reminds me a lot of yours :D

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:04am

Great game, interesting controls. The only thing I don't like is the A and B controls, the position of the buttons made it kinda hard to play.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05am

Pretty neat. I was originally thinking it would be like Divekick as well but you got a fair bit of variety in with just the two buttons. I even was getting some juggles in and combos which is pretty cool for two buttons and not even any arrow keys.

piluve says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14am

I like a lot the idea!
It is a bit hard to play tho.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

Don't know why this was so fun but it was.

I really liked this, even though for me gameplay boiled down to randomly and haphazardly clicking both buttons, executing combos randomly. Seemed pretty effective ;) Maybe you need a cooldown on the bigger moves, like the explosion and the jump jump a (forgot its name).

Graphics are good, music is pretty cool, and win animation and enemy death animations are hilarious :D

Great entry, good luck!

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

Hahah the pulse animation is the best *sassy head-shake*
Great game

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

The sequence of enemies is amusing. The controls are just annoying, though.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44am

The red loading bar fills up, then nothing.
I'm running Linux Mint 17.2 and I tried both Chromium and Firefox.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Nice game, good work

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

very criative and fun! finished and i want some more =D nice work!

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Nice game... =)
I agree with others, when you should change the key combination.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Really like how you made different combo actions based on two buttons. Good stuff!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Very fun concept, the controls are very responsive. It is a bit hard to move your character around, but it's very fun overall.
I love the slomo kill-cam :)

great job!

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

nice combo system, but that turn mechanic is a little bit tricky. maybe if the player always face the opponent the gameplay could be better.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29am

Very good idea with combos controls.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Interesting game. I had to get used to the controls, but once I got it, the game was quite fun.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Hey I liked this. Sadly Chuck Norris killed me. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]