Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Farmers Struggle

by ItsSacraficed - Compo Entry

A game where you grow plants and seeds.
You can buy those plants and seeds from the shop.
If your debt is 50 or more you will lose.

Controls :

M to mute music and sound.
[ and ] to scroll trough the seeds you have or the collection you had.
Press ESC to exit the game.
Walk around in the game (Mainy left and the shop on the right) to find out more!

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#476Audio2.64
#607Humor2.06
#625Theme3.55
#724Mood2.58
#739Graphics2.59
#760Overall2.91
#788Innovation2.57
#847Fun2.52
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice little game. :)

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Really neat game,but [ and ] are not the best Keys to Control a game, I'm from Germany, so with my Keyboard layout I just cannot scroll trough the seeds.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04pm

@tiffi aah didn't think about that, those 2 are actually rebindable in unity input tab. But i'll remember that thanks :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

A nice game. Very slow paced but enjoyed the concept of building up and expanding your farm. I got in debt, just like IRL!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice game, it's strangely soothing. The background music is pretty nice, too. I would have liked a little bit less dull graphics, though. The controls were a bit strange. Why not just use the scroll wheel?

ItsSacraficed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

@Dooskington Thanks, yeah i'm very bad at graphics and about the scroll wheel.. Well never thought about that actually it wouldve been better.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

There was no profit margin in growing cherries... I think the main character sucks at economy. Not to mention 30$ for seeds for one cherry bush? Really?

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Very nice and soothing music - appropriate for the pace of the game.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice game

MHaton says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Not bad :) Seemed to have an issue where I was harvesting multiple plants at once but only getting the money for one, which meant I lost a LOT of money very quickly. Not to mention the vast majority of plants seeming to make less money than they cost to plant... remind me never to become a farmer!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Nice little game. :)
But I think it needs a little more balancing because it's way to hard to earn the money in it. And the growing could maybe be a more fast pace, but just a tiny bit faster.
And good luck whit future games! :)

shar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Interesting thingy. Nice game! And Unity UI Kreygasm

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Well made little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]