Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

4mula Fun

by Aaants - Compo Entry

2 button racing for up to 4 players.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#52Graphics4.25
#102Overall3.81
#228Mood3.36
#260Fun3.46
#356Audio2.91
#554Theme3.64
#804Innovation2.53

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Very well done! And awesome to have local multiplayer! My only critique is that the cars handled a bit too perfectly.. Kind of hard to describe, but the turning was could use some more pizzaz! Other that that, great job!

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The local multiplayer is amazing, very well done!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I love the graphics style! Simple but nice :D

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Fantastic game! Liking it! 5 stars from me. Im sure you will contunue to work on this game, keep up good job.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

fun. is it possible to beat the computer ? or should you only play with other people ?

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

@anael Yep! They know the tracks better than you do though ;)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I saw some of your screenshots on Twitter during the weekend and it's great to see what you made out of it. I really like the second track. But I don't have a chance against the other cars.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Amazing 3D graphics and levels for the given time! Very nice game.

Lamebait says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Great art direction!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Solid two button race. Good work. Love the music too!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Best game so far. Really nice game... 4 player = +1.... But I'm so bad in playing this game... +1 for the awesome graphics and sound... nice game ... well done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55am

really awesome - the kids and i had a blast playing - great

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Very well done!
The fact that this has 3D graphics, multiple camera's, multiplayer and AI is amazing!
Really like the art style, low-poly always is nice in my opinion :)

I only have two negatives: The music is not very good (is nice that there is any, but still), and the races are too static. Maybe it could be more interesting with power-up's or something.

Good job!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16pm

vrum vrum! Big like!

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very fun entry! good job!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Yess, so cute and fun!

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:21pm

tbis is just great, having different cameras makes it way cooler

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:05pm

That's a good amount of work for one weekend, very nice! Those graphics are great, they take me back to the Virtua Racing days, ah...

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:10pm

tbis is just great, having different cameras makes it way cooler

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Nice graphics but the controls and interface are very confusing.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Really cool maded man ! :)

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:05am

love the graphics though gameplay could use more goals

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:37pm

It took me a while but I managed to beat the computers on both courses. The tree/nature course was definitely easier, so probably better to put that one on the left (i.e. first).

The graphics are really impressive, well done!

This game was really missing sound effects though, it would've been a lot nicer with them.

Also, all the views were pretty useless except the ones that faced you forward, because otherwise you couldn't see what the next turn was. I guess if everyone was using the same view so they had the same disadvantage it might work. Still, it was kinda fun figuring how which view was best that would give me the best chance of winning. I found the third-person view was the best.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:13am

Didn't have a chance to try the multiplayer out, but works well with just me! Love the style.

Muel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Awesome!

My only critics are: the music, a bit repetitive; the obstacles, that seems to have no effect at all; the camera view you can only change at the beginning.

But, overall, damn, you made a multiplayer multicamera racing game! We can play like a simulator or like RRR. Very impressive job!

Also, I found the game kinda cute.
If was me making it, I'd embrace the "cute" style and put babies piloting, giving some baby giggles sometimes ^^

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Split screen racing in 72 hours waaaahhht? Seriously great work for the challenge. Graphics are good. I like that the screens that are not in use are cameras on the action. The controls are good (some racers make it too hard and you hit things all the time). Great work!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Very well done! It reminded me of RC Pro AM for the NES which is fantastic! I played it with girlfriend and she loved it too! Top stuff! :D

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]